how to locate a job in the repository

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

karthikgk0705
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:59 am
Location: Bangalore

how to locate a job in the repository

Post by karthikgk0705 »

Hi All,
I have around 5000 jobs in my project.
How do I find out / locate a job ?
I dont have the category structure in which it lies.
Jus hava the job name.
Do we have any such way?

(something like ctrl+f that we use for text doc)

Please let me know.
Thanks in advance.
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

You can locate it by using this command in the DS administrator -

Code: Select all

SELECT NAME, CATEGORY FROM DS_JOBS WHERE NAME = 'JOB_NAME' ;
Search for alternate ways.
Last edited by narasimha on Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

They are alphabetically placed. Go for a visual view. There is no find option.
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

karthikgk0705 wrote: (something like ctrl+f that we use for text doc)
Export your jobs to a .dsx/.xml file and search for the 'job name', similar to searching in a text file.
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

narasimha, I think the OP is concerned more in finding the job in the designer in order to open/edit/run it. Analogous to finding a link on a website with 5000 links. A simple find and click. Unfortunately such a thing is not present in DataStage.
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

Thats right, it would be a nice feature (In fact a basic feature which any product should have).
I was trying to get close to help the OP with the Control-F functionality :wink:
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
gateleys
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 992
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 5:08 pm
Location: USA

Re: how to locate a job in the repository

Post by gateleys »

Use a UV stage with the user-defined SQL -

Code: Select all

SELECT DS_JOBS.NAME, DS_JOBS.CATEGORY FROM DS_JOBS WHERE DS_JOBS.NAME = <Your_Job_Name>;
This will list each job with its category. You may order it by Jobname.

gateleys
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

There is a Search facility in Director. You can also disable the view of categories and sort by job name in Director status view.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

Found another way -

In DS Director -> View -> Filter Entries
You have options to include or exclude Job names, works with the wild character '*'
You need to disable the category View though.
(Ray, Thanks for pointing in the right direction)
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
karthikgk0705
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:59 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by karthikgk0705 »

Hey Guys,
Dir->View option is working fantastically.

Thanks all for ur efforts.
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

Hope you can mark the topic as resolved.
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Now that is something I hardly use. Get to learn something new every time from this website.
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Yah, it's called a Filter. :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Guess I always banked on organizing the jobs in different categories and sub categories and never ran into sucha problem. But if I do, Ill know what to do :wink:
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

chulett wrote:Yah, it's called a Filter. :wink:
By this time readers will know, who is wild and crazy. :lol:
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
Post Reply