Page 1 of 1

How to pass UserStatus from Job to Routine?

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:09 pm
by dsdoubt
Hi,

Iam calling a Job from Routine. Iam setting UserStatus using a routine in the job. How to pass UserStatus from Job to Routine that calles the job?

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:11 pm
by narasimha
It has been discussed n number of time. Do a search

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:13 pm
by chulett
And 'n' = what, exactly? :wink:

Called job sets USERSTATUS. Calling routine uses DSGetJobInfo with an InfoType of DSJ.USERSTATUS to retrieve it.

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:28 pm
by narasimha
n "Exact Search of UserStatus" :wink:

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:37 pm
by dsdoubt
chulett wrote:Called job sets USERSTATUS. Calling routine uses DSGetJobInfo with an InfoType of DSJ.USERSTATUS to retrieve it.
Perfect Criag!!!
Iam using that routine in JobSequence. And using Routine.$ReturnValue to pass the value fetched from this argument to other jobs. Is there any simple way.
As you know, there is no UserStatus for RoutineActivity in Version 7.

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:41 pm
by ray.wurlod
There's no simpler way given that you've chosen to use a routine rather than the Job Activity to run the job.

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 9:18 pm
by chulett
dsdoubt wrote:As you know, there is no UserStatus for RoutineActivity in Version 7.
Because there's no need for that. It is, however, supported for the Job Activity stage.

Ray's point was that if you had used a Job Activity stage to run the job in the Sequence, you could have leveraged that to automatically pass $UserStatus from it to any downstream activity. Using the routine unnecessarily complicates the process... unless there is some reason you needed to build it that way? :?