FTP error

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

FTP error

Post by narasimha »

Hi all,

I am using FTP stage to transfer data from one server to another.

It is simple job design

Code: Select all

FTP Stage ------> Sequential File
The jobs has been running it production for well over a month now, but lately the job is aborting.(sporadically)
The log messages show as below

Code: Select all

IbiHeadGrpFileFtp..File_To_Be_Read.IDENT1: DSD.StageRun Active stage starting, tracemode = 0.
IbiHeadGrpFileFtp..HeadGrpFile_FTP: 230 User xxx logged in.
IbiHeadGrpFileFtp..HeadGrpFile_FTP: Error while trying to open connection for receiving data from the FTP server, FTP command PORT failed
Attempting to Cleanup after ABORT raised in stage IbiHeadGrpFileFtp..HeadGrpFile_FTP
Job IbiHeadGrpFileFtp aborted.
Changing the tracemode could give me more information, but I was wondering if somebody has had similar issues and got it resolved without doing that.
Any clues...
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Any 'From previous run...' information if you reset the job? :wink:

Regardless, suggest you bump up the tracing level.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
jhmckeever
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:27 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by jhmckeever »

narasimha ,

Have you tried telnetting to your server and performing the relevant FTP manually from the shell prompt?

J.
<b>John McKeever</b>
Data Migrators
<b><a href="https://www.mettleci.com">MettleCI</a> - DevOps for DataStage</b>
<a href="http://www.datamigrators.com/"><img src="https://www.datamigrators.com/assets/im ... l.png"></a>
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

Craig,

I get no addition information after doing a reset :(
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

jhmckeever wrote:narasimha ,

Have you tried telnetting to your server and performing the relevant FTP manually from the shell prompt?

J.
Tried that too, runs without warnings
I get this error sporadically :?

Don't know why, I get the below warning message, only which the abort happens. Don't see this message in the previous runs though!

Code: Select all

IbiHeadGrpFileFtp..HeadGrpFile_FTP: 230 User xxx logged in.
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
jhmckeever
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:27 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by jhmckeever »

Hmmm ... sporadic errors are always the trickiest!

What's your FTP stage's settings for "FTP Data Connection Mode"? If it's the default 'active' then maybe try 'passive' (which will behave differently if you've got some weird firewall issue.)

J.
<b>John McKeever</b>
Data Migrators
<b><a href="https://www.mettleci.com">MettleCI</a> - DevOps for DataStage</b>
<a href="http://www.datamigrators.com/"><img src="https://www.datamigrators.com/assets/im ... l.png"></a>
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

Yes, currently it is set to the default "Active". Will change it to "Passive" and bump up the trace level and see if it helps.
Sadly, I am not able to reproduce the errors consistently.
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

narasimha wrote:I get this error sporadically :?
Is there anything else (something different) happening with the Servers or the environment at those sporadic moments?
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

I_Server_Whale wrote:Is there anything else (something different) happening with the Servers or the environment at those sporadic moments?
Yes there other unrelated jobs which running at the same times on the same system.
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
jhmckeever
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:27 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by jhmckeever »

I don't suppose those other jobs are also utilising the FTP stage?

J.
<b>John McKeever</b>
Data Migrators
<b><a href="https://www.mettleci.com">MettleCI</a> - DevOps for DataStage</b>
<a href="http://www.datamigrators.com/"><img src="https://www.datamigrators.com/assets/im ... l.png"></a>
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

jhmckeever wrote:I don't suppose those other jobs are also utilising the FTP stage?

J.
Nope, This is the only job which is using the FTP Stage at that moment.
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

It seems like the open connection was denied for some odd reason or it was unable to open the connection. Its hard to trim the problem down if its not reproducable. Ditch the stage, do it from command line, get the file and read it with a sequential file stage.
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

"Ditch the stage" :wink:
I have saved it as my last option if nothing works.
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

I have never used that stage so I dont know how reliable it is. But if it keeps popping up with error, Id kill it :wink:
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
jhmckeever
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:27 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by jhmckeever »

narasimha ,

Which version of 7 are you using. I'm currently on a site using 7.1r2 and I've also had sporadic errors with the FTP Stage. In my case it's for a non-production job so I've not taken the time to uncover what's going wrong. Perhaps worth asking IBM about?

J.
<b>John McKeever</b>
Data Migrators
<b><a href="https://www.mettleci.com">MettleCI</a> - DevOps for DataStage</b>
<a href="http://www.datamigrators.com/"><img src="https://www.datamigrators.com/assets/im ... l.png"></a>
Post Reply