Page 1 of 4

Regarding exporting datamodel

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:47 pm
by vijaykumar
Hi Gurus,

My friend has developed a datamodel, i have created a schema in oracle, i want to export the datamodel into my schema.Can anyone help me out.

cheers;
vijay

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:54 pm
by narasimha
Do you want to use Datastage to do this?

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:54 pm
by kumar_s
Hi Vijay,

Here, what are you referring to as schema?

Re: Regarding exporting datamodel

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:09 pm
by I_Server_Whale
vijaykumar wrote:My friend has developed a datamodel,
Was the datamodel created using any tool, for ex: ERwin, etc? How was the datamodel created?

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:20 pm
by vijaykumar
Hi,
My friend used ERWIN tool to design the datamodel.
I created schema using command

create user username identified by password.
grant dba priviledges.

Now How can i export the created datamodel into schema.
Can i do with datastage, or should i go for any other tool.

cheers;
vijay

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:24 pm
by narasimha
Again, what do you mean by schema.
There is no out of the box solution do what you want, from datastage.
Why not use ERWIN to do the same?

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:27 pm
by kumar_s
So I assume its LDM to PDM (Logical Data model to Physical Data Model).

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:38 pm
by I_Server_Whale
kumar_s wrote:So I assume its LDM to PDM (Logical Data model to Physical Data Model).
Me too! And like Narasimha suggested, why not use Erwin to create the PDM.

Whale.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:57 pm
by vijaykumar
Hi Gurus,
I mean to say ,for eg: scott is the default schema name in oracle.
instead of working out with that schema, iam creating new schema by sql command

create user username identified by password.
grand dba priviledges.

Actually my requirement is:I was given a datamodel . Now what i want is that i want to fire SQL queries into that datamodel so as to validate all the relationships(entity relationships, primary key and foreign key relationships described are valid).

How can i do that.

cheers;
vijay

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:02 pm
by chulett
What in the world would any of this have to do with DataStage? Use TOAD or sql*plus.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:09 pm
by vijaykumar
Hi,
Sorry, since you are Gurus, i thought that you people would help me in getting the best optimized approach.

cheers;
vijay

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:16 pm
by narasimha
Craig already told you the optimal method.
Using Datastage for this will make things more difficult for you.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:15 pm
by kumar_s
The optimized approach would be...
wrap the SQLs in a SQL file. Call that SQL through a shell script. Call that script through an Execute command Activity stage in Datastage. Call that JobControl using a BASIC Routine.
And finally Schedule it. :wink:

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:25 pm
by ray.wurlod
As others have noted, this is not an ETL task, and therefore DataStage is not the correct tool.

Whatever tool you used to develop the logical model ought to have the capability to create a physical model, and to generate DDL from that. If not, find a tool that can, such as ERwin, ER/Studio, Rational, and so on.

Such tools integrate more closely with IBM Information Studio, as they share a common repository.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:26 pm
by kduke
There is a routine which creates DDL from DS_METADATA called KgdCreateDdlMetadata. It is on my tips page. You could easily modify this to do the same from hashed file of your choice. You need to extract the table names and column names into this hashed file.