Basic program to monitor path

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

r.julia
Participant

Basic program to monitor path

Post by r.julia »

Hi,

I want a DS basic job to monitor a path on a unix server and sends a mail if files there are longer than 2hours. Could someone tell me if theres a similar job here please, or give me some idea about this. I am completely new to basic programming. I could do this easily in shell or C.

Thanks

Julia
Datastage is pretty interesting
kcbland
Participant

Post by kcbland »

So, write a shell script and call it from a DS Sequence job command stage or write a Batch job to loop and use CALL DSExecute to periodically run the same shell script.
Kenneth Bland

Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
r.julia
Participant

followup

Post by r.julia »

Could you please give me an example of the batch jobs to call the script? I dont think I have came accross this in my short(7weeks) DS career.

Thanks

Julia
kcbland
Participant

Post by kcbland »

Using DS Director, from menu Tools --> Batches --> New. In the blank job control canvas, type in this:

UnixCmd="hostname"
CALL DSExecute("UNIX", UnixCmd, ScreenOutput, ReturnCode)
CALL DSLogInfo("The UnixCmd shows this to the screen -->":ScreenOutput, "Test")
CALL DSLogInfo("The UnixCmd had this exit value -->":ReturnCode, "Test")

All DS APIs are documented in your DS BASIC manual available under your Start button, Ascential, Online Documentation. You can write anything you need to do. Consider putting this logic into a loop with a sleep statement to periodically execute your script. Consider exiting the loop (and thus the job) at a predetermined time or exit condition (maybe check for an exit file in a certain directory).
Kenneth Bland