Page 1 of 1

updating DS_ROUTINES custom routine to 'NRO'

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 6:42 am
by garthmac
Hi

I'm trying to update a specific custom routine in DS_ROUTINES but I'm not sure of the exact statement. To update all I would use:

UPDATE DS_ROUTINES SET READONLY = 'RO' WHERE READONLY = 'NRO';

My project is not protected, and I can't import a custome routine over an existing one. I hear that there may be a patch for this - I'm waiting for IBM support to get back to me, but I've not heard from them. I haven't been able to use version control while we have two different DataStage server versions installed. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

We're using DS 7.5.1A on AIX 5.3

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:16 am
by kcbland
What's the error message?

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:18 am
by garthmac
Hi Ken

The error I get on importing the routine is "No objects found for import!"

The custom routine is read-only, but I should still be able to import, which will overwrite, just like I can with jobs.

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:22 am
by kcbland
You can't import over read-only objects. So I guess you're setting them to read and then trying the import. I've never done this, so I can't help much other than to say make sure your dsx file also shows them as read. Are they even in your dsx file?

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:23 am
by chulett
Are you sure you exported it? :wink:

You need to explicity include 'read only' objects when doing so.

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:27 am
by ArndW
Add AND WHERE DSRID = "{your routine}" to the query.

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:35 am
by garthmac
I definatley exported it, and I included read only objects :)

Thanks Arnd for the DSRID addition. I've now updated the routine to 'NRO'.