Page 1 of 1

Unix AIX/DataStage

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 7:47 am
by Bryceson
Hi Folks,

We are moving our environment from Windows to Unix AIX.

We also intend to use Reflection X emulator to connect to AIX Server. Does anybody has used Reflection X to connect to AIX and can be able to aid me here?

Two years ago I have worked on Reflection X emulator to connect to Sun Server with this text of of code in command:

Code: Select all

(/usr/openwin/bin/cmdtool -display %IP#% -title "ocsun1" -bg orange &)
was able to open a session window.

Now in AIX I have got this set up like this: (default)

Code: Select all

(/usr/bin/X11/aixterm -v -fn 6x13 -sb -ls -display %IP#% -name %T% &)
and session window does not open.

I made changes to this:

Code: Select all

(/usr/bin/X11/xterm -display %IP#% -title "DEVL" -bg orange &)
still no luck.

DataStage and Unix Guru . . . What am I missing here to get this to work??

Thanks in advance for your help.

Bryceson

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 8:43 am
by chulett
Switch to PuTTY. :wink:

I used Reflection X long time gone and recently Exceed. Ended up dumping it in favor of PuTTY. Free, easy to use and light-weight.

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 8:54 am
by Bryceson
Thanks Chulett . . . At the moment I am using PuTTY to get the work done. Even though I am still interested to use Reflection X.

Hopefully folks in the forum are using it . . . . may be I will get a few hits to get it going on my env.

Bryceson

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 9:20 am
by ArndW
I'm a puTTY convert now as well.

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:40 am
by Bryceson
For all the DataStage Unix Guru out there!!!

I am trying to set up simple alias for my user id on a UNIX Aix env.

Here is how my .profile looks:

Code: Select all

#.profile

PATH=/usr/bin:/etc:/usr/sbin:/usr/ucb:$HOME/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/sbin:.

export PATH

ksh

if [ -s "$MAIL" ]           # This is at Shell startup.  In normal
then echo "$MAILMSG"        # operation, the Shell checks
fi                          # periodically.
Here is how my .kshrc looks:

Code: Select all


#.kshrc

# Local Aliases

alias ll="ls -al"
Others:

Code: Select all

-rwxrwxr-x   1 dbyw83   etladm          218 Aug 07 12:13 .kshrc
-rwxr-----   1 dbyw83   etladm          259 Aug 07 12:17 .profile

$ echo $SHELL
/usr/bin/ksh

$ ll
ksh: ll:  not found.
What do I need to set in order to excute that ALIAS in .kshrc because right now it tells me ksh: ll: not found ??

Thanks . . . Bryceson


[/code]

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 12:26 pm
by kcbland
Did you logoff and login again? Can you source ( . ./kshrc) and see that your ll works? Otherwise, you could stick it into your .profile and see if that works.

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 12:45 pm
by Bryceson
Thanks Ken . . .

How do I source . ./kshrc??

Bryceson

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 12:53 pm
by Bryceson
I also tried to stick the alias in .profile it does not work!!

Thanks . . . Bryceson

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 12:56 pm
by kcbland
When you do a ". " in front of any program or command, a new environment is not "spawned". So, any environmental variables set inside the shell script are not set in a new environment, but the current environment. This is called "sourcing".

So, ". ./profile" will load your environment settings without logging out and logging in.

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:23 pm
by Bryceson
Ken . . . Thanks again!!

Here is what I get, when I do the sourcing

Code: Select all

$ . ./.profile
$ ll
ksh: ll:  not found.

$ . ./.kshrc
$ ll
ksh: ls:  not found.
$
Thanks . . . Bryceson

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:35 pm
by kcbland
Can you type in an alias, like

Code: Select all

$ alias FRED="hostname"
$ FRED
Does it work?

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:36 pm
by kcbland
Also, just type in "alias" and hit enter to "see" if you have an alias setup. For what it's work, single quotes are really preferred, but it shouldn't make a difference. If you can't see aliases, then my only guess is somehow it's disabled.

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:59 pm
by Bryceson
Thanks . . Ken,

I think I need to chase the system admin . . . something is wrong here!!

Code: Select all

$ alias FRED="10.126.5.11"
$ FRED
ksh: 10.126.5.11:  not found.
When I type in alias

Code: Select all

$ "alias"
autoload='typeset -fu'
command='command '
functions='typeset -f'
hash='alias -t -'
history='fc -l'
integer='typeset -i'
ll='ls -al'
local=typeset
nohup='nohup '
r='fc -e -'
stop='kill -STOP'
suspend='if [[ ${0#-} = $0 ]] ; then kill -STOP $$; else dspmsg -s 1 ksh.cat SUS                                              PEND "suspend: cannot suspend login shell
"; fi '
type='whence -v'
Bryceson

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:15 pm
by kcbland
Where's FRED when you type in alias? The example worked (although I don't know why you put an ip address in when I wanted hostname, although any command would have worked I like that one).

It is apparent that alias is working, but why FRED isn't in your alias environment after typing in alias is a mystery, but it did work long enough for you in the test.

It's a mystery...