Basic code

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Shree0410
Participant

Basic code

Post by Shree0410 »

Hi guyz, I am new to DataStage, cross platformed from the legacy systems to the ETL.

I am using the 7x and all my jobs are server, I guess this is due to the fact that the client shop do not have more than 1 node.

Now, what is Basic code in DataStage and what is the need to this.
I heard some people telling me that we don't need Basic anymore due to the flexibility of the sequencers and stuff.

Please guide me further, thanks guys, this is a gr8 forum.
kcbland
Participant

Post by kcbland »

Your Server job design is translated into DS BASIC and then compiled. All supporting Routines, Functions, Transforms, constraints, key expressions, and derivations are DS BASIC. You can't get away from it, you will use it.

The only question is whether you want to do more. If you wish to write some fancy Functions or Routines, go for it. If you don't like the Sequencer, use the same API's as the Sequencer and write your own job control.
Kenneth Bland

Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
Shree0410
Participant

Post by Shree0410 »

So, this is more of like a machine level language, that means, DS runs on the BASIC compiler?

also, from what I got from ue lines, the string manipulations, and all kinds of transformations we do in DS are indirectly BASIC code, right?

thanks for ur reply
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

No, not 'machine level language', more like pop or intermediate code. BASIC is interpreted by the various flavors of the runtime engine in place per O/S.