failed to open RT_LOGnnn file

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
reddy
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:54 pm

failed to open RT_LOGnnn file

Post by reddy »

Hello Sir,

Because of space problem on QA server we deleted RT_LOGnnn files of almost all jobs.but when i try to open the job or compile the jobs we are getting "Failed to open RT_LOGnnn file) error message.

Can you guys please help me out on this.

Thanks in advance
Reddy
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

You should never do this again. Internal repository files should NEVER been messed with.

Your project is basically corrupted at this point. If you left the RT_LOGnnn directories behind then the easiest solution is to go to an existing job in Director and clear its log. Then, go to the directory that contains the log files for that job. Copy the entire contents (DATA.30, OVER.30, and a hidden .Type30 files) to each and every log file you cleared.

If you removed the RT_LOGnnn directories, you have really no choice but to create a new project, export and import your existing jobs into the new project, and drop the old corrupted project.
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

You could create a new job, and compile it. This will create a new, empty RT_LOGnnn where nnn is the job number for that job.

You can then (recursively) copy this for each of the job numbers for which you deleted the RT_LOGnnn hashed file. Get a list of job numbers from DS_JOBS, and

Code: Select all

cp -ipr RT_LOGnnn RT_LOGxxx   (UNIX) 
XCOPY /S/E/I RT_LOGnnn RT_LOGxxx   (Windows) 
where xxx is the job number of one of the jobs that lacks a log, and nnn is the job number of the newly created job.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
reddy
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:54 pm

Post by reddy »

Hi Guys,

I have 700 jobs in my project.Even when i try to exporting these jobs i am getting same error.

Can you please helpme out how to fix this problem


Thanks
Reddy
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

Manually recreate the RT_LOGnnn directories and contents, or write a script to do it.
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
reddy
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:54 pm

Post by reddy »

Hi Ray,

As per your valuable suggestion:

1.I created new job and compiled it and get the new RT_LOG number

2.Using DS_JOBS command in DS ADMINISTARTOR i am getting RT_LOG numbers of all jobs in this project

3.how to and where do i use xcopy command ?


Can you please help me out on 3rd step.

Thanks for your valuable help.

I really appreciate both Ray and Ken
reddy
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 12:54 pm

Post by reddy »

Ray,

I am going follow all your steps and i tested on one job it worked fine.


Thanks for help.


Reddy
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

XCOPY is a DOS command, so you can use it from a CMD shell on the server.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply