Help on dsexport

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

kduke wrote:Leave me and my logo alone.
This forced to ask me once more. :lol:
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Re: dsexport mutliple jobs to export

Post by kumar_s »

kura wrote:Can we export multiple jobs to same "dsx" file from command line using dsexport

Can somebody help in syntax?
Thanks kura, for getting us back to track. :wink:
dscmdexport can be used to export the whole project into single dsx.
dsexport can be used to export individual file into individual dsx.
If reuqired, you can merge all those individual files into single file.
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Aim to please.

Code: Select all

    for /F "tokens=1" %%i in (%JobList%) do (

        ECHO Exporting %%i to Project: %Project% on Host: %Host%

        echo "%DSExportCmd% /H=%Host% /U=%User% /P=%Password% /JOB=%%i %Project% %%i.dsx" >> %LogFileName%
        %DSExportCmd% /H=%Host% /U=%User% /P=%Password% /JOB=%%i %Project% %%i.dsx >> %LogFileName%
        IF NOT %ERRORLEVEL%==0 GOTO ProjFail

        ECHO. >> %LogFileName%
        ECHO *** Completed Export for Project: %Project% on Host: %Host% >> %LogFileName%
        ECHO     from File: %ProjectDir%\%%i >> %LogFileName%
        ECHO. >> %LogFileName%
    )
Straight from the backup script.
Mamu Kim
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Might need this line.

Code: Select all

SET DSExportCmd=C:\Progra~1\Ascential\DataStage7.5.1\DsExport.exe
Mamu Kim
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Here is the second one.

Code: Select all

    SET DSExportCmd=C:\Progra~1\Ascential\DataStage7.5.1\dscmdexport.exe

Code: Select all

%DSExportCmd% /H=%Host% /U=%User% /P=%Password% %%i %BackupDir%%DsxDate%\%Host%_%%i.dsx
This does a whole project backup.
Mamu Kim
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

kduke wrote: %DSExportCmd% /H=%Host% /U=%User% /P=%Password% /JOB=%%i %Project% %%i.dsx >> %LogFileName%
Kim, This will again export Job wise into the specified directory isn't?
You changed the color of the logo again, Cant resist. :lol: :lol:
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

That is correct. You need to put a full path on the dsx to put it somewhere other than the current directory.

One day only on the less colorful logo. Okay?
Mamu Kim
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

kduke wrote: One day only on the less colorful logo. Okay?
I ll wait for your next change.
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
OddJob
Participant
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Post by OddJob »

I've found that dsexport also supports:

/XML
/EXT

and

/EXEC
/APPEND

I think /EXEC exports the executable part - the dsx produced only has a DSEXECJOB section.
/APPEND can only be used with /EXEC and appends onto an existing dsx file.

I found this by opening the file dsexport.exe in a hex editor and looking at the clear text in the file. The complete list of apparent switches is:
/JOB=
/XML
/EXT
/EXEC
/APPEND
/ASK
/ALL
/NUA
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

You could have used strings utility for that!
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
OddJob
Participant
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Post by OddJob »

That's exactly (and I mean verbatim) what somebody else said to me in the office.

However, I'm from a Windows background and prefer trawling through hex files in UltraEdit :D
Post Reply