dscmdexport command line problem

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

PhilHibbs
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1044
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Post by PhilHibbs »

Mike wrote:I did a quick change/compare to isolate the registry entry. It is here:

Code: Select all

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Ascential Software\DataStage Client\Manager]
"XML Format"="1"
"1"=xml, "0"= dsx

I'm sure you're aware of the usual disclaimers/warnings associated with editing the Windows registry.

Please do let us know what solution you come up with.
I tried this, no luck. There must be some other side-effect of that tickbox that causes the problem. Ascential Support said "but there is something else that the Manager changes" when I enquired about the registry setting (I did look myself but somehow didn't spot that key).

Update:
Just for completeness sake, I also changed the extension of the DSExport value from xml to dsx as well as changing the "XML Format" value, and this fixed it! This is surprising to me, since dscmdexport has no reason to read the default export file name that DS Manager uses.
Last edited by PhilHibbs on Thu Mar 03, 2005 12:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Phil Hibbs | Capgemini
Technical Consultant
Mike
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1021
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2002 6:01 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Post by Mike »

Yes. It wasn't obvious to me that that particular key was used for an export either. I did a registry export, unticked the property, did another registry export, and then compared the two registry exports.

There was one other key that changed. I didn't mention it because I didn't think it would make a difference, but ...

"DSExport" key (appears to contain the last used export file name). The file extension in this changed from xml to dsx.

Those were the only two registry settings that changed within the [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Ascential Software\DataStage Client\Manager] branch.

Mike
PhilHibbs
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1044
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Post by PhilHibbs »

My backup script now changes these two registry settings, and then puts them back at the end. Works like a charm.
Phil Hibbs | Capgemini
Technical Consultant
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Please post your solution.
Mamu Kim
PhilHibbs
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1044
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Post by PhilHibbs »

kduke wrote:Please post your solution.
My solution is in the Perl script that does the backup:

Code: Select all

use Win32::TieRegistry;

$Registry->Delimiter("/");
my $reg = $Registry->{"CUser/SOFTWARE/Ascential Software/DataStage Client/Manager"};
my $old_reg = $reg->{"/XML Format"};
$reg->{"/XML Format"} = 0;
my $old_reg_file = $reg->{"/DSExport"};
my $new_reg_file = $old_reg_file;
$new_reg_file =~ s/\.xml/.dsx/;
$reg->{"/DSExport"} = $new_reg_file;

# run the backup ...

$reg->{"/XML Format"} = $old_reg;
$reg->{"/DSExport"} = $old_reg_file;
If this forum had a file upload area, I'd post the whole script but it's 160 lines long.

Update:
Here's the script, which requires the Perl modules File::Slurp and Net::Telnet

I notice that your backup script is written in MS batch language, I don't know how you would solve this problem in that context. Anyone know of a good command-line registry edit program? I suppose you could use

Code: Select all

regedit /S dsx.reg
and a file like this:.

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Ascential Software\DataStage Client\Manager]
"DSExport"="C:\\DSExport.dsx"
"XML Format"="0"
Last edited by PhilHibbs on Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Phil Hibbs | Capgemini
Technical Consultant
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Nice. Thanks.
Mamu Kim
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

I recently worked at a site that renamed the exiting export file, then exported. They rely on nightly Windows backups if they ever need to go back more that two nights. They've never needed to thus far.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
PhilHibbs
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1044
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 3:30 am
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Post by PhilHibbs »

ray.wurlod wrote:I recently worked at a site that renamed the exiting export file, then exported. They rely on nightly Windows backups if they ever need to go back more that two nights. They've never needed to thus far.
That would not avoid this problem, because when the XML box is ticked, the dscmdexport command always prompts about the existing file, even if the file did not exist before running it.
Phil Hibbs | Capgemini
Technical Consultant
Theenathayalan
Participant
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 4:48 pm

registry value for output as externalized strings XML

Post by Theenathayalan »

Hi

I am trying to export a job as XML using command line export.

I want to export with default settings.

That is, Output as externalized Strings in XML tab of the Export window.

This is not working when doing via command line. I always get internal stored values.

Do I need to change any registry values for manager to get it working.

Appreciate your help.

thanks
Theena
Theenathayalan
Participant
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 4:48 pm

registry value for output as externalized strings XML

Post by Theenathayalan »

Hi

I am trying to export a job as XML using command line export.

I want to export with default settings.

That is, Output as externalized Strings in XML tab of the Export window.

This is not working when doing via command line. I always get internal stored values.

Do I need to change any registry values for manager to get it working.

Appreciate your help.

thanks
Theena
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

That's not the default but if you've made sure that option is defaulting to on and it's still not working, I don't see what else you could do. There's nothing to change in the registry in that case.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
J.Calvo
Participant
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:21 am

Post by J.Calvo »

I know the problem.
I had it in datastage version 8.0.1, and the solution is:
In designer tool, Tools > Options > Prompting > Unmark this check boxes.
Now try again.
Solved?
:)
Best Regards,
Jorge Calvo
Post Reply