job logic

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
kksr
Participant
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:57 am

job logic

Post by kksr »

Hi All,

I am designing one server job..

I have 2 columns from the source ( GL and LCL) which need to be loaded into target
Source Fields
GL LC
01 02
03 04
from the GL source filed I have load the data into target fields QTYNAME QTYVAL
For QTYNAME, I have to hard the value as GLTR and for QTYVAL, I have display from GL source column as 01

From the LC filed I have load the data into target fields QTYNAME QTYVAL
For QTYNAME, I have to hard the value as LTR and for QTYVAL, I have display from LC source column as 02
Output Format:
QTYNAME QTYVAL
GLTR 01
LTR 02
GLTR 03
LTR 04

Please help me for the above logic

_________________
KKSR
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

You do not have funnel in server jobs.

But depending on whether the output is database or flatfile or any other media, you can change your design.

For example, if database, you can insert as separate streams.

Btw, what must happen if any of the 2 column value is 00 or blank ?
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:You do not have funnel in server jobs.
But you do have a Link Collector.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Zafar
Participant
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:58 am

Post by Zafar »

Best option would be to separate it in the source query:
Like if source is a SQL database:

Select 'GLTR', GL
from table name

UNION

Select 'LTR', LC
from table name

Now in the xformer stage map the input and output columns accordingly..
Hope this logic works :)
Post Reply