release job locks from datastage adminstrator

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
dr.murthy
Participant
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:47 am
Location: delhi

release job locks from datastage adminstrator

Post by dr.murthy »

hi ,

any one please suggest me how to release locks from datastage administrator comnd tools.
D.N .MURTHY
dhanashreepanse
Participant
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Pune, India

Post by dhanashreepanse »

Go to Job--> Cleanup Resources.
You would see the PID and the corresponding processes.
Select the required PID and use the Logout button.
dhanashreepanse
Participant
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Pune, India

Post by dhanashreepanse »

pls ignore that repy....that's from Director...not Admin
dr.murthy
Participant
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:47 am
Location: delhi

Post by dr.murthy »

dhanashreepanse wrote:pls ignore that repy....that's from Director...not Admin
hi
thanks for your respond,is there any way relese locks from asminstrator
D.N .MURTHY
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Let me begin by reminding everyone that you do NOT release DataStage locks unless it is safe to do so, usually because the lock is owned by a now-defunct process.

The answer to the question is "yes", but precisely how depends on which of the unlocking commands you want to use. I am going to assume that you mean the UNLOCK command, which is not available in a project until you either create it in the VOC file in that account manually (probably as a "remote" pointer), or by using one of the unlocking options from the DS.TOOLS menu in that project (which installs the UNLOCK command). Once you have done that, the UNLOCK command should work for you in that particular project.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
harish_s_ampeo
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 6:31 am

unlocking jobs from datastage administrator

Post by harish_s_ampeo »

To get the list of jobs in use... select the project and select command and type :

LIST.READU

This gets the Inode of the process I want to clear.

Then unlock the job using the Code:

UNLOCK INODE #node_number# ALL
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

As you will have observed, the LIST.READU command is available in every project but, by default, the UNLOCK command is not. You can install the UNLOCK command in a couple of ways, as noted in my earlier post. If you have used any of the unlocking options from the DS.TOOLS menu, the UNLOCK command will have been installed in the project's VOC file. Otherwise you can emplace it yourself for example as follows.

Code: Select all

SETFILE UV VOC UV.VOC
INSERT INTO VOC(F0,F1,F2,F3) VALUES ('UNLOCK','R','UV.VOC','UNLOCK');
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply