Controller Problem

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
pradkumar
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:09 pm

Controller Problem

Post by pradkumar »

Hi All

I am running a job sequence in two different environments (Integration and Production).
In integration its runing fine, but in production its failing with error code=-1
"Controller problem: Error calling DSWaitForJob(), code=-1
[Invalid JobHandle]"

What this error code=-1 represents?
Could any one of you let me know how to solve this issue?

Thanks
Pradeep Kumar
balajisr
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 8:58 am

Post by balajisr »

Did you migrate this job into production in the first place?

Also, please delete the other duplicate post before anyone answers that.
pradkumar
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:09 pm

Post by pradkumar »

Sure will do this.
i migrated the jobs for the first time to production
Pradeep Kumar
balajisr
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 8:58 am

Post by balajisr »

Verify whether the job is in right state to run. Is the job status "Not Compiled"?
pradkumar
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:09 pm

Post by pradkumar »

Jobs are in the right state. They are compiled
Pradeep Kumar
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

As noted in the message, that "-1" means "Invalid JobHandle". Odd that it happens in the WaitForJob part of the process, that should mean it was able to start the job using the handle it established. :?

Did you try search for "Invalid JobHandle"? People have reported the problem here in the past and solutions were posted, see if any of them resolve your problem.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Are you using your own ("hand written") job control code?
Look for code like the following:

Code: Select all

hJob1 = DSAttachJob(JobName, DSJ.ERRNONE)
ErrCode = DSRunJob(hJob1, DSJ.RUNNORMAL)
ErrCode = DSWaitForJob(hJob)
(These may not be adjacent lines in your node.) Note that the variable used in DSWaitForJob() is not the same name as that used in DSAttachJob() and DSRunJob().
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply