Error in executing the command dsjob on unix

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
pradkumar
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:09 pm

Error in executing the command dsjob on unix

Post by pradkumar »

Hi,

we have DS Server 7.5.1 running on HP-UX 11.11

When i run the following command dsjob

iam getting the error as

dsadm@uwghp01:/dss/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/bin$ dsjob
sh: dsadm@uwghp01:/dss/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/bin$: not found.
dsadm@uwghp01:/dss/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/bin$ /usr/lib/dld.sl: Can't find path for shared library: libvmdsapi.sl
> /usr/lib/dld.sl: No such file or directory
> Abort(coredump)
>

Could any one help me out in resolving this issue.

Thanks
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Source your dsenv file first so the environment is properly set:

Code: Select all

cd $DSHOME
. ./dsenv
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
pradkumar
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:09 pm

Post by pradkumar »

Hi,

Thanks chulett for your reply. Yes it worked .

But when i tried to execute the same command after closing that session and opening a new telnet session iam getting the same error. Could you let me know what should be done to work the commands in bin directory even after opening a new session . or Do we need to source dsenv everytime when we want to run the jobs from command line?? any hints how to solve this issue permanently??

Thanks
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

pradkumar wrote:Do we need to source dsenv everytime when we want to run the jobs from command line??
Yes.
Put the relevant commands into your login script (for example .profile).
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Yup. That or put that in your 'wrapper' script for dsjob that ensures everything is properly setup, environment-wise (etc etc), no matter who wants to run the job.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
pradkumar
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:09 pm

Post by pradkumar »

Hi ,

Can you give an idea of putting the relavant commands in .profile. I dont have an idea what commands to put in .profile.iam not able to figure it out where the issue is ..

Iam copying the dsenv script and .profile --

dsadm@uwghp01:/dss/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine$ vi dsenv
"dsenv" 80 lines, 2556 characters
#!/bin/sh
####################################################################
#
# dsenv - DataStage environment file
#
# Copyright (c) 1997 - 2004 Ascential Software Corporation. All Rights Reserved
# This is unpublished proprietary source code of Ascential Software Corporation
# The copyright notice above does not evidence any actual or
# intended publication of such source code.
#
# This script is sourced by the DataStage dsrpcd daemon to establish
# proper environment settings for DataStage client connections.
#
# This script may also be sourced by bourne shells to establish
# proper environment settings for local DataStage use.
#
####################################################################

# PLATFORM SPECIFIC SECTION

set +u

if [ -z "$DSHOME" ] && [ -f "/.dshome" ]
then
DSHOME=`cat /.dshome`
export DSHOME
fi

if [ -z "$DSHOME" ]
then
DSHOME=/dss/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine; export DSHOME
fi

if [ -z "$APT_ORCHHOME" ]
then
APT_ORCHHOME=; export APT_ORCHHOME
fi

if [ -z "$UDTHOME" ]
then
UDTHOME=/dss/Ascential/DataStage/ud41; export UDTHOME
UDTBIN=/dss/Ascential/DataStage/ud41/bin; export UDTBIN
fi

if [ -n "$DSHOME" ] && [ -d "$DSHOME" ]
then
ODBCINI=$DSHOME/.odbc.ini; export ODBCINI
HOME=${HOME:-/}; export HOME

#LANG="<langdef>";export LANG
#LC_ALL="<langdef>";export LC_ALL
#LC_CTYPE="<langdef>";export LC_CTYPE
#LC_COLLATE="<langdef>";export LC_COLLATE
#LC_MONETARY="<langdef>";export LC_MONETARY
#LC_NUMERIC="<langdef>";export LC_NUMERIC
#LC_TIME="<langdef>";export LC_TIME
#LC_MESSAGES="<langdef>"; export LC_MESSAGES

#LD_PRELOAD must be unset on HP-UX 11.00
if [ 1111 -le `uname -r | cut -f2 -d.``uname -r | cut -f3 -d.` ]
then
SHLIB_PATH=`dirname $DSHOME`/branded_odbc/lib:$DSHOME/lib:$DSHOME/uvdlls:$DSHOME/java/jre/lib/PA_RISC:$DSHOME
/java/jre/lib/PA_RISC/hotspot:$SHLIB_PATH
export SHLIB_PATH
#LD_PRELOAD=$DSHOME/java/jre/lib/PA_RISC/hotspot/libjvm.sl
LD_PRELOAD=$DSHOME/java/jre/lib/PA_RISC2.0/hotspot/libjvm.sl
export LD_PRELOAD
else
SHLIB_PATH=`dirname $DSHOME`/branded_odbc/lib:$DSHOME/lib:$DSHOME/uvdlls:$DSHOME/java/jre/lib/PA_RISC:$DSHOME
/java/jre/lib/PA_RISC/hotspot:$SHLIB_PATH
export SHLIB_PATH
fi
fi

#Informix Environment Variables
INFORMIXSERVER=dbengine1_tcp; export INFORMIXSERVER
ONCONFIG=onconfig_1; export ONCONFIG
INFORMIXDIR=/usr/sdk27hc1; export INFORMIXDIR
HOME=/dss/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/; export HOME

SHLIB_PATH=$INFORMIXDIR/lib:$INFORMIXDIR/bin:$INFORMIXDIR/lib/esql:$INFORMIXDIR/etc:$INFORMIXDIR/lib/cli:$SHLIB_PATH; export
SHLIB_PATH

--------- .profile

dsadm@uwghp01:/dss/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine$ vi .profile
".profile" 5 lines, 148 characters
#
stty erase '^H' kill '^U' intr '^?' quit '^_' -tabs ff0 cr0 nl0 echoe ofill
umask 027
PATH=.:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/ucb:/etc;export PATH
exec bin/uv

As i said in the previous post if i source the dsenv file and execute the command dsjob command its working and displaying the dsjob properties.
but if i close the session and execute the command iam getting the same error.
can you let me know the commands to put in dsenv and .profile (set DSHOME) .Iam just wondering the environment vairables setup correctly or not ??

Thanks a lot
Post Reply