Importing Whole Project

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
edsxpedx
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 12:01 pm

Importing Whole Project

Post by edsxpedx »

Hi All,

I have exported whole project from production which is in DataStage 6.1.1. Now I have to import whole project to new Development server which is in 7.5.1.1. In this process I got a requirement to change the production database login information to development database login information for all the jobs(Around 900 jobs). How can I do this simple instead of changing in every job.

Thanks
Venu
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Best answer would have been to use Job Parameters for this information making the whole point moot. However, still shouldn't be all that hard - use your favorite text editor and search/replace old to new values in the .dsx before you import it.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
edsxpedx
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 12:01 pm

Post by edsxpedx »

Thanks a lot for your infromation.
vivekgadwal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 4:05 pm

Post by vivekgadwal »

Or...design a DS Job that sources the export file and using EReplace function, replace the required information. It would go something like this...

Source would be the .dsx file
Target again would be the .dsx file...file name different of course
In the transformer use the Ereplace function to find and replace the string that you need.
Syntax would be like this:

Code: Select all

 Ereplace(<Col Name>, "<String to be replaced>", "<New String>")
Now the only issue that I can see with this is to replace the Password. But, at least this will work for replacing the SID and USER NAME.
Vivek Gadwal

Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted
jdmiceli
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:03 am
Location: Urbandale, IA

Post by jdmiceli »

If you still have it in text file format and have Perl available, follow this link: viewtopic.php?t=113429&highlight=perl+scripts

Search for the script named ReplaceParameters.pl and follow the instructions. It is quick and easy.
Bestest!

John Miceli
System Specialist, MCP, MCDBA
Berkley Technology Services


"Good Morning. This is God. I will be handling all your problems today. I will not need your help. So have a great day!"
Post Reply