DSGetLinkInfo to get the DSJ.LINKROWCOUNT

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
turash
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:09 am
Location: Edison, NJ

DSGetLinkInfo to get the DSJ.LINKROWCOUNT

Post by turash »

I have server job which extracts rows from Sybase and load to Sequential file.
and it also creates a job report in sequential format.

Job design looks like this

Code: Select all


Source --> Transform1 --> Target
                      |
                      |__ Hash file --> transform2 --> report
                   
I am using following function to get the count for each link

DSGetLinkInfo (DSJ.ME, "Transform1 ", "link1", DSJ.LINKROWCOUNT)
DSGetLinkInfo (DSJ.ME, "Transform1 ", "link2", DSJ.LINKROWCOUNT)

I am putting this into hash file and pass this into sequential file.

Problem : this functions returns 0.

Any help with getting the correct result is appreciated

thanks in advance !
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

You are calling this where? :?

Functions of that nature are meant to be used 'after job' or in a separate step in a following job or Sequence activity. Are you doing this inside the running job?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
turash
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:09 am
Location: Edison, NJ

Post by turash »

chulett wrote:You are calling this where? :?

Functions of that nature are meant to be used 'after job' or in a separate step in a following job or Sequence activity. Are you doing this inside the running job?
I am doing this inside the running job
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

No can do. Let's approach it from this angle - what are you trying to accomplish?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
turash
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:09 am
Location: Edison, NJ

Post by turash »

Long story short

we have to move data between two transactional database
Source - UDB
Target - Sybase
Work unit to be extracted going to come from MQ series in XML format which will be used as input parameter to extract 50 tables. once the whole sequence of job is completed. I have to create a xml with workunit which got extracted and add job report for each individual job. and if tables have some type of amounts e.g. Premium for a policy. I have to provide the control totals in this case.



chulett wrote:No can do. Let's approach it from this angle - what are you trying to accomplish?
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

The link row counts will work if called from the after-job subroutine.
turash
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:09 am
Location: Edison, NJ

Post by turash »

ArndW wrote:The link row counts will work if called from the after-job subroutine.

RESOLVED

Code: Select all


Source --> Transform1 --> Target
                      |
                      |__ Hash file --> transform2 --> report 
I have moved the function to get out row count to transform2 level
and called
DSGetLinkInfo (DSJ.ME, "Transform1 ", "link2", DSJ.LINKROWCOUNT)

and gives me row count of Transform1

:D 8)
Post Reply