Multiple Instance

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
muruganr117
Participant
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Chennai
Contact:

Multiple Instance

Post by muruganr117 »

Hi,

I have a sequencer in Multiple instance, sequencer is triggered in 8 instances, based on parameter i pass from main sequencer the sub sequencer should trigger into 16 instances. For ex

Main Seq 1 -> PARM1 -> Instance Seq (PARM1.1,PARM1.2....PARM1.8. )
Main Seq 2 -> PARM2 -> Instance Seq (PARM2.1,PARM2.2....PARM2.8. )

The 2 main sequencer will be executed in parallel. I want to know how can i do a concatenation in Invocation Expression. for differentiation between PARM1 & PARM2. I tried to concatenate using PARM1:"1" in invocation expression, but it dint work out and job got aborted. Please help in this regard.

Thank you

Murugan
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

What exactly is PARM1 and PARM2? :?

I'm having a hard time following your question, it almost looks like you want to create an Invocation Id with a dot in it - "PARM1.1" - when that is not allowed. Or is PARM1 the name of your Sequence (note - not 'Sequencer') job and the '1' is the desired Invocation Id?

As far as I know, the Invocation Id in a Job Activity stage does not allow concatenation or anything like the expressions you can use for the job parameters. If you need to manipulate something for use there, you'll need to do it in a discrete step before this stage - for example, a Routine Activity stage where the routine does the requisite concatenation and the returned result is linked directly into the Invocation Id.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
muruganr117
Participant
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Chennai
Contact:

Post by muruganr117 »

What exactly is PARM1 and PARM2? :?

Hi,

Thanks for your response, as i said earlier, a parameter PARM is passed through sequencer and i have to use these in invocation id expression. For each parameter, there are 8 instances, and these 8 instances are triggered simultaneously. So when you execute in such manner, status will be as given below.
First parameter to PARM is A -> A1, A2, A3...A8
Second parameter to PARM is B -> B1, B2, B3...B8, My requirement is to concatenate PARM with 1,2,..8 in invocation expression.
JoshGeorge
Participant
Posts: 612
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:59 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by JoshGeorge »

Did you try doing the same without concatenation operator?

Try this:
Put the parameter in the Invocation ID field of the Job Activity stage for instances (Choose from the option by clicking on the button on right side of Invocation ID field and Job parameter). Then just hardcode the number next to it without concatenation operator.
Joshy George
<a href="http://www.linkedin.com/in/joshygeorge1" ><img src="http://www.linkedin.com/img/webpromo/bt ... _80x15.gif" width="80" height="15" border="0"></a>
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

That will work. I just modified one of my test sequence jobs to do this, no concatenation operator or quotes around the number and it worked just fine:

Code: Select all

#P_PARAM_NAME#1
#P_PARAM_NAME#2
etc.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
muruganr117
Participant
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Chennai
Contact:

Post by muruganr117 »

Thank you Joshy & Craig for your response, i shall try it out and get back...Thanks once again....
muruganr117
Participant
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Chennai
Contact:

Post by muruganr117 »

muruganr117 wrote:Joshy & Craig Thank you for your responses
I tried both ways as suggested,
I used #PARA_NAME#1, #PARA_NAME#2.
as well as tried as Joshy suggested,
But it dint work out. i got this error

Compiling: Source = 'RT_BP1338/JOB.1270435759.DT.1446754774', Object = 'RT_BP1338.O/JOB.1270435759.DT.1446754774'
0195 jb$V95S0 = "Seq_BkgCommUpd_rtExec":'.':#JobParam%%6#1)
"NE" unexpected, Was expecting: ':', "CAT"
0369 jb$V95S4 = "Seq_BkgCommUpd_rtExec":'.':#JobParam%%6#:2)
"NE" unexpected, Was expecting: ':', "CAT"
2 Errors detected, No Object Code Produced.
(Seq_BkgCommUpd_CtlMi_MAIN)


Finally it worked by using concatenation operator PARAM:1, PARAM:2 in invocation expression

Thank you very much for your responses
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

What version of DataStage do you have? What I posted worked fine in the 7.5.x version. :?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
muruganr117
Participant
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Chennai
Contact:

Post by muruganr117 »

chulett wrote:What version of DataStage do you have? What I posted worked fine in the 7.5.x version. :?

i am using 7.1 version. May be 7.5 supports differently.
Thanks for response.
Post Reply