Job Category

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
asitagrawal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:20 pm
Location: Porto

Job Category

Post by asitagrawal »

Hi,

I am executing the below command from a before stage routine...

SELECT CATEGORY FROM DS_JOBS WHERE NAME = 'TestTivoli';

the result contains Category............Testing\Tivoli\JobsNSeq1 records listed.

Now I want the remove Category............, for this I am using CHANGE function to remove it..

I there any other way ??
Share to Learn, and Learn to Share.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Please don't post the same question in multiple forums.

Your answer, of course, is yes. There are other ways to remove it after selection, but I'm sure there's a way to keep it from being generated in the first place. Problem is, I don't remember what in the heck how to do that. :(

One of the Ubers like Ray or Kim should be along eventually to help us out.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Code: Select all

SELECT CATEGORY FROM DS_JOBS WHERE NAME = 'TestTivoli' SUPPRESS COLUMN HEADING ; 
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Cool, thanks. I thought it might be one of those 'one word' style dealios ala 'DET.SUP'. :?
Last edited by chulett on Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:04 am, edited 2 times in total.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

You can also use COL.SUP but *technically* the full words are defined for SQL. COUNT.SUP might also be useful.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
asitagrawal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:20 pm
Location: Porto

Post by asitagrawal »

How to supress the number of records listed count ??

If possible, Please share where are these commands documented ??

Thanks
Share to Learn, and Learn to Share.
asitagrawal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:20 pm
Location: Porto

Post by asitagrawal »

How to supress the number of records listed count ??

If possible, Please share where are these commands documented ??

Thanks
Share to Learn, and Learn to Share.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

That would be the COUNT.SUP that Ray mentioned.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
asitagrawal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:20 pm
Location: Porto

Post by asitagrawal »

Am sorry,

I dont understand this please..

Please guide me for the usage of COUNT.SUP ?

What is the syntax ??

Thx..
Share to Learn, and Learn to Share.
asitagrawal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:20 pm
Location: Porto

Post by asitagrawal »

Am sorry,

I dont understand this please..

Please guide me for the usage of COUNT.SUP ?

What is the syntax ??

Thx..
Share to Learn, and Learn to Share.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Just add it at the end of the query.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

COUNT.SUP (or COUNT SUPPRESS) suppresses display of the "1 records listed." message.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

These are Universe commands or options. They are documented in the Universe manuals. There are posts to where you can download these manuals. These commands are TCL commands and you can get some information with the TCL HELP command.

HELP COUNT.SUP

There are lots of options to suppress whatever you want. Ray teaches Universe classes as well as DataStage classes. I am sure he will sign you up if you want.
Mamu Kim
Post Reply