JOBCONTROLLER

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
asitagrawal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:20 pm
Location: Porto

JOBCONTROLLER

Post by asitagrawal »

Hi,

In a custom before job routine,

I am determining the Controller of the job,
using DSGetJobInfo(JobHandle, DSJ.JOBCONTROLLER).

Acoording to DSbooks,
Name of the job controlling the job referenced
by the job handle. Note that this may be several job names separated
by periods if the job is controlled by a job which is itself controlled, etc.
But, in my case, am getting just the immediate controller sequences name, not the sequence (Seq1) which is controlling another sequence ( Seq2 ). The job is being controlled by Seq 2 !!

Code: Select all

Seq 1---- > Seq 2 ----> Job 1
Share to Learn, and Learn to Share.
JoshGeorge
Participant
Posts: 612
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:59 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by JoshGeorge »

Known Bug I think . You will have to recursively call this API.
Joshy George
<a href="http://www.linkedin.com/in/joshygeorge1" ><img src="http://www.linkedin.com/img/webpromo/bt ... _80x15.gif" width="80" height="15" border="0"></a>
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

It's a bug, that API returns the name to the immediate controlling job. If the controlling job is itself controlled, you'll need to check that as well. You'll have to attach to the controlling job and then call the API again.

<<Removed the NOT I had originally typed, which shouldn't have been there, brain is fried, hands have mind of their own>>
Last edited by kcbland on Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Then the Help is wrong.
DataStage Designer Help wrote:DSJ.JOBCONTROLLER String - name of the job controlling the job referenced by the job handle. Note that this may be several job names separated by periods if the job is controlled by a job which is itself controlled, etc.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Indeed.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

It is most certainly a bug, I know I had a ticket open for that and ended up having to code a recursive routine to get the whole "family" of a job's parents.
asitagrawal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:20 pm
Location: Porto

Post by asitagrawal »

ArndW wrote:It is most certainly a bug, I know I had a ticket open for that and ended up having to code a recursive routine to get the whole "family" of a job's parents.
I have also written a recursive routine to get the to the immediate controller.... because I was not getting the results as mentioned in the guide.. so call it a wrong help or a known bug... ...now I know that writing the recursive routine was correct... that is what I was looking for ... Great !

thanks to all :)
Share to Learn, and Learn to Share.
Post Reply