ds_ipcput - timeout waiting for mutex

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

jozef
Participant
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:46 am
Contact:

ds_ipcput - timeout waiting for mutex

Post by jozef »

I have read through all the postings regarding "mutex", and changed the MFILES, T30FILES and set SYNCALOC = 1.
Unfortunately none of this seems to resolve my problem..... :(

I'm reading from an Oracle database with some lookups from hash files writing into a XML file. This error (ds_ipcput - timeout waiting for mutex) does not occur when written to a flat file.

Could anybody please assist?

Thanks

Jozef
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Welcome! Sorry, only questions at this point, no answers yet. :wink:

So, when does this error happen? Only when writing to XML? :?

Nothing else magical in your job, IPC stages or Row Buffering turn on, anything like that? Also, for the record - operating system?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

After changing SYNCALOC, did you run uvregen and re-start DataStage? If not, your SYNCALOC change will not have taken effect.
Have you adjusted the SPINTRIES and/or SPINSLEEP parameters?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
jozef
Participant
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:46 am
Contact:

Post by jozef »

Yes, ran uvregen. Didn't adjust the SPINTRIES or SPINSLEEP parameters though, could you please give me some tips on this?

Yes, this only happens when writing to XML (after 100 rows read)
No hassles when writing to a flat file.

Operating system = UNIX 11i.
No funnies straightforward read and wright with some reference data from hash tables.
Strangely enough, when I take away the referencing from the hash files it wrights to XML without a problem?!?!?!

Thanks for the response.
dscnn
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:11 pm

mutex errors

Post by dscnn »

Where are the SPINTRIES, SPINSLEEP and other parameters adjusted? Which file on the server or the place on Administrator?
ray.wurlod wrote:After changing SYNCALOC, did you run uvregen and re-start DataStage? If not, your SYNCALOC change will not have taken effect.
Have you adjusted the SPINTRIES and/or SPINSLEEP parameters?
ml
Participant
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 1:03 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: mutex errors

Post by ml »

dscnn wrote:Where are the SPINTRIES, SPINSLEEP and other parameters adjusted? Which file on the server or the place on Administrator?
These parameters are in the uvconfig (not .uvconfig) file, in DSEngine folder.

After you change the uvconfig file, you need to run "uvregen" If you don't do that the changes will not take effect.

For uvregen you need first check that no one is connected to DataStage (netstat -a | grep dsrpc)
then stop server/run uvregen/start server
in the folder DSEngine/bin
./uv -admin -stop
./uvregen
./uv -admin -start
Then you can run "./smat -t" in order to be sure that the chages are done.

this is for UNIX, on Windows is similar.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Windows doesn't use mutex locks, so it won't be a problem there.

Search for mutex and/or SPINTRIES, I posted a description of what's happening. A good exact search term might be "smart semaphore".
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
khanparwaz
Participant
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 3:34 am

Re: mutex errors

Post by khanparwaz »

ml wrote:
dscnn wrote:Where are the SPINTRIES, SPINSLEEP and other parameters adjusted? Which file on the server or the place on Administrator?
These parameters are in the uvconfig (not .uvconfig) file, in DSEngine folder.

After you change the uvconfig file, you need to run "uvregen" If you don't do that the changes will not take effect.

For uvregen you need first check that no one is connected to DataStage (netstat -a | grep dsrpc)
then stop server/run uvregen/start server
in the folder DSEngine/bin
./uv -admin -stop
./uvregen
./uv -admin -start
Then you can run "./smat -t" in order to be sure that the chages are done.

this is for UNIX, on Windows is similar.


while running uvregen i got this error can anybody exolain me that what it is looking for


/opt/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/bin ./uvregen
.uvconfig: No such file or directory
uvregen: error during regen, process aborted

thanks in advance.
Last edited by khanparwaz on Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

You must be in the parent directory.

Code: Select all

cd $DSHOME
. ./dsenv
bin/uvregen
You must also be the DataStage administrator.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
khanparwaz
Participant
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 3:34 am

Post by khanparwaz »

ray.wurlod wrote:You must be in the parent directory.

Code: Select all

cd $DSHOME
. ./dsenv
bin/uvregen
You must also be the DataStage administrator. ...

Hi ray , thanks for reply.

i am doing it from bin directory only.

but getting an error when i run uvregen that uvconfig file does n't exist but i think it should be in dsengine directory is it so? if not it should be present in which directory.
I have admin rights as well.
Thanks
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Ray has shown you where you need to be. Run the commands as listed.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

ml wrote:the uvconfig file is placed in the bin folder.
No, it is not. It lives in the 'engine' directory, a.k.a the directory pointed to by the $DSHOME environment variable.

And yes, you need to do this with DataStage shutdown.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

khanparwaz wrote:
ray.wurlod wrote:You must be in the parent directory.

Code: Select all

cd $DSHOME
. ./dsenv
bin/uvregen
You must also be the DataStage administrator. ...

Hi ray , thanks for reply.

i am doing it from bin directory only.
And that is 100% wrong!
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Nisusmage
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 1:57 am

Post by Nisusmage »

ray.wurlod wrote:
khanparwaz wrote:
ray.wurlod wrote:You must be in the parent directory.

Code: Select all

cd $DSHOME
. ./dsenv
bin/uvregen
You must also be the DataStage administrator. ...

Hi ray , t ...
Hello Guys,

How was battleing to run uvregen on windows.
I tried everything you guys said above. I couldn't get it to run.

So for windows, what I did was
1) copy the '.uvconfig' and 'uvconfig' to the bin directory
2) run 'uvregen'
3) copy '.uvconfig' back to the parent directory.

The problem was that I don't think the changes took effect.
I ran 'smat -t' and the spintries still = 0 where as in the config file I set it to 5.

Please help. I'm new to Admin on Datastage.
~The simpliest solutions are always the best~
~Trick is to understand the complexity to implement simplicity~
Nisusmage
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 1:57 am

Post by Nisusmage »

Okay strange thing happend:

The SPINSLEEP config is changing but not the SPINTIRES. So the procedure I'm doing is working, just not the SPINTRIES.

Any ideas?
~The simpliest solutions are always the best~
~Trick is to understand the complexity to implement simplicity~
Post Reply