Find Jobs which Use a Particular Env Variable.

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
DeepakCorning
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 8:14 am

Find Jobs which Use a Particular Env Variable.

Post by DeepakCorning »

I just wanted to know that is there a way to find out all the jobs which use a Particular Environment Variable??
For EG. If I have 50 Jobs and 25 of them use Environment variable DATABASE_TYPE then is there way to get list of all those tables??
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Nothing out of the box. You could use something like Kim Duke's parameter navigator to search, or a search on DS_JOBS and DS_JOBOBJECTS modelled on some of the queries posted here.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
DeepakCorning
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 8:14 am

Post by DeepakCorning »

Can you provide me some links...I will try to search as well.. THanks..
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

Kim Duke's website, where you can learn more about 'Parameter Navigator'. http://Duke-Consulting.com.
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

Very recently we had discussion on that. Kim had posted such code

Code: Select all

SELECT
   DS_JOBS.NAME AS JOB_NAME,
   DS_JOBS.CATEGORY,
   DS_JOBOBJECTS.NAME AS OBJECT_NAME,
   DS_JOBOBJECTS.OLETYPE,
   EVAL DS_JOBOBJECTS."if index(upcase(@RECORD),'DATABASE_TYPE',1) > 0 then 'FOUND' else ''" AS FOUND FMT '5L'
FROM
   DS_JOBS,
   DS_JOBOBJECTS
WHERE
   DS_JOBS.JOBNO = DS_JOBOBJECTS.OBJIDNO
   and FOUND = 'FOUND'
GROUP BY
   JOB_NAME,
   DS_JOBS.CATEGORY,
   OBJECT_NAME,
   DS_JOBOBJECTS.OLETYPE,
   FOUND
; 
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Three mentions in one post and I don't even have to answer the post. Thanks. 8)
Mamu Kim
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

That shows how popular Kim and Kim's code are. 8)
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
Post Reply