Regarding Parameters

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

vijaykumar
Participant
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:08 pm

Regarding Parameters

Post by vijaykumar »

Hi Gurus,
I want to retrieve the actual value of the parameter using Operating system command utility.
please help me , Because my team lead wants to find a way retrieve the actual environmental variable value which we specify in the administrator using operating system utility.
plz Gurus help me

cheers;
vijay
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

dsjob is the utility. You need to retrieve the "job started" event (find the newest log ID of type "started" using -lognewest option). Among other things, this reports the parameter values that were used for that run. Read the detail of that event using -logdetail option.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
vijaykumar
Participant
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:08 pm

Post by vijaykumar »

Hi Gurus,
can u please post the dscommand used to retrieve.

plz Gurus help me.

cheers;
vijay
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

I did. :roll:
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Don't supply the user name. Or, if you need to, use the appropriate options for hostname, user name and password.

Type dsjob by itself to obtain a syntax summary.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

-useid does not mean userid but something else entirely that escapes me at the moment.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

vijaykumar wrote: plz help me in listing the actual value of the parameter.
Note:
dsjob -lparams command will list all the parameters used for a particular job. It will not return you a value of a specific parameter.

Whale.
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

I_Server_Whale wrote: Refer to the Server Job Developer Guide pdf manual.
Look for complete sytax there. lparams will list all the params the job is using and not the value for that param. You need the option -paraminfo with dsjob.

Code: Select all

dsjob -paraminfo <Projectname> <JobName> <ParameterName>
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Option -paraminfo gives the default value, not the actual runtime value. You need to get this from the job log, as I outlined earlier.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

vijaykumar wrote:Because my team lead wants to find a way retrieve the actual environmental variable value which we specify in the administrator using operating system utility.
Didn't the OP want the default value assigned in the Administrator?
DSguru2B wrote:Look for complete sytax there. lparams will list all the params the job is using and not the value for that param. You need the option -paraminfo with dsjob.

Code: Select all

dsjob -paraminfo <Projectname> <JobName> <ParameterName>
Phew! :oops: Somehow, I forgot/missed about that one completely. Thanks DSguru2B for reviving one of my neurons. :)

Whale.
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Wsn't going to mention that, figured someone else would. Just wanted to get the syntax straightened out.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

I think 'Que' pronounced as 'k' stands for 'who' or 'whom' in spanish.
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Spanish for 'what'. And 'they' use question marks at each end (the first one upside-down) to make a phrase a question.

Much like saying Huh? :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
vijaykumar
Participant
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:08 pm

Post by vijaykumar »

Hi Gurus,
I don't know the operating system to get the job id.
I used the command
DSJOB -1params [useid] salma10 job1

Iam getting error
status code=-9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR.

why am i getting this error, its because i didn't use the jobid.
My operating system is windows, how to get jobid.

please help me Gurus.

cheers;
vijay
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

Don't use [useid]
Try

Code: Select all

dsjob -lparams salma10 job1 
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
Post Reply