regarding command line utility

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Saama
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: Pune
Contact:

regarding command line utility

Post by Saama »

hi gurus,

my job design is odbc---->transformer---->odbc
after compiling and running the job its stored in the repository.i use command line utility from administrator.
i have search for commands.
i have used LIST.DICT DS_JOBS, its displaying a list.
but my job name is saa, will this command display my job.
plz help me with the command that displays my job, regarding my metadata and transform components used.plz help me .

cheers;
saama
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

LIST.DICT just displays the dictionary items not the contents. Plus DS_JOBS just has info about the jobs, not the stages. I say stick to DS functions to retrieve job meta data and stage info. Also, search for kduke's ETLStats.
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Why not just open the job in Designer and click the button that looks like an Internet Explorer icon? It will generate a lovely little HTML document will all that stuff in it for you... no charge.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Again with the hard way, DS. :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

You can just say :

Code: Select all


LIST DS_JOBS

to get a list of all of your jobs.

Or you can use:

Code: Select all


SELECT * FROM DS_JOBS WHERE NAME = 'YourJobName'

Searching the forum will get you many answers most of the times. I guess you didn't search before posting.

There are a lot posts for the search term 'LIST' or 'LIST DS_JOBS'. If you think your topic is resolved. Please mark it as resolved.


Whale.
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Ops, but not my fault, really, i got the impression that its something that the OP wanted to set up dynamically at a regular basis. :roll:
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

chulett wrote:Why not just open the job in Designer and click the button that looks like an Internet Explorer icon? It will generate a lovely little HTML document will all that stuff in it for you... no charge.
This is the perfect answer for your needs.
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

It's an even better answer if you've been bothered to document your job design.

Axiom: there is never time to retrofit documentation.
Moral: do documentation first.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Saama
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: Pune
Contact:

Post by Saama »

Hi gurus,
Thanks very much.
i have used command line utility
SELECT * FROM DS_JOBS WHERE NAME='JOBNAME'
i also used another command, which i searched in the forum.
when i use SORT.ITEM DS_JOBOBJJECTS.
it displays record numbers.
how to identify my job when i use SORT command.
plz help me in identifying job.

cheers;
saama
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

What are you trying to accomplish?
The join between DS_JOBS and DS_JOBOBJECTS is made as

Code: Select all

DS_JOBS.JOBNO = DS_JOBOBJECTS.OBJIDNO
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Saama
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: Pune
Contact:

Post by Saama »

Hi,
thanks guru.
i just wanted to view transformation used in the jobs from the command line utility, the metadata, the source table and target table used.

can we find these details of my job from command line utility.
my team lead wants to know that.
once again thanks.
my design is odbc---->transformer--->odbc.
thanks.

cheers;
saama
Saama
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: Pune
Contact:

Post by Saama »

Hi,
i have given command LIST DS_JOBOBJECTS.
how to find my object id.
there are many object id, plz help me how to find my object id.

cheers;
saama
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

You find yourself at the top of a cliff. Before you are two paths to your objective at the bottom:

A) A long, winding, treacherous path known only to mountain goats and the Hill People who have lived here for centuries. Many have died attempting to take that route.

B) A shiny new express elevator.

You have chosen... A.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

chulett wrote:You find yourself at the top of a cliff. Before you are two paths to your objective at the bottom:

A) A long, winding, treacherous path known only to mountain goats and the Hill People who have lived here for centuries. Many have died attempting to take that route.

B) A shiny new express elevator.

You have chosen... A.
:lol: :lol: :lol: I mean real LOL...Uncontrollably.
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

How about you tell your team lead that the answer is "no"?

After all, SQL can not be executed directly from the command line, and the table definition of DS_JOBOBJECTS is made deliberately incomplete by the vendor.

But you might like to use the -report option with the dsjob command.

Code: Select all

dsjob -report [-useid] <project> <job|jobid> [report type>]

         report type = BASIC | DETAIL | XML
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply