Read_delimited()- Required Column Missing

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Look at the Missing Column property. It's in the Columns grid.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
thumsup9
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 11:29 am

Post by thumsup9 »

You can use 'Replace' in the Incomplete Column grid.
shilpa79
Participant
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 5:59 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by shilpa79 »

Its working fine.

Thank you so much for all your help.

Shilpa.
pradkumar
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:09 pm

Post by pradkumar »

Hi

I want to detach the code which is at end of each record into separte column "alt_text" and palce at the end of record. The output should look like

OUTPUT :
CODE | TEXT|.... |ALT_TEXT (=TEXT)
470E | HYD!3721|...|HYD!3721
471E|HYD!3722|.....|HYD!3722
How to do this?

My job is something like seq -> transformer->table
Pradeep Kumar
I_Server_Whale
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:54 am
Location: United States of America

Post by I_Server_Whale »

This is a THREAD HIJACK. You have already posted this topic in an earlier post.

If you are not an author of a post, I guess you cannot "re-open" it either.

Please DO NOT post twice. This will not take you very far in getting answers.

Whale.
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
DeepakCorning
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 8:14 am

Post by DeepakCorning »

You can always have a seperate column defined at the target level rather than declaring at the source level so ur mapping in short will look like -->

Column1 -- Column1
Column2 -- Column2
-- Column3 assigne Column 2
shilpa79
Participant
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 5:59 pm
Location: Virginia

Hi,

Post by shilpa79 »

Delimited Substrings is the one You can extract using this syntax:

string [ delimiter, instance, fields ]

string is the string containing the substring.

delimiter specifies the character that delimits the substring.

instance specifies the instance of delimiter where the extraction is to start.

fields specifies the number of fields to extract.


you can also use field function 'field'
Field (string, delimiter, instance [ ,number] )
pradkumar
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:09 pm

Post by pradkumar »

Hello Whale

I posted it as it is related to the previous discusion.
By the way I am new to group and I really donot know that, this should not be done. I am sorry about it and will not repeat it in future
Pradeep Kumar
suresh.narasimha
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:17 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Read_delimited

Post by suresh.narasimha »

Hi Shilpa,

This looks like your source data problem.

If you are not worried about extra columns in the record you can check The option in format tab - Suppress row truncation warnings.

Else you open the file in a textpad or edit plus to trace the error record manually.





Regards,
SURESH NARASIMHA
Post Reply