search a job name

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
vsi
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:44 pm

search a job name

Post by vsi »

A simple question - Is there a way to search a job by its name.

I am trying to save a job by particular name and it says the job name already exists. I am trying to find the already existing job, already spent lot of time on it and yet unable to find the job.

Is there a way to search Job Name, just like FIND in MSOffice.

-Thanks
Krazykoolrohit
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:36 am
Location: Ohio

Post by Krazykoolrohit »

NO. there is no such find functionality.

In case you need a workaround. goto manager and choose tools->export.

in the popup that appears you will get a drop down of all jobs alphabetically listed with category.

hope that helps
vsi
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:44 pm

Post by vsi »

Thank you, that was good one :D . But, strangely the job doesnt exists at all, still it says the job already exists when i try to save by that name? I remember vaguely that I have once created that name.

Any Ideas on this behavior of datastage even when the job doesnt exists??
narasimha
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Staten Island, NY

Post by narasimha »

Go to DataStage Administrator and execute this in the command, you will gets the job's location

Code: Select all

select * from DS_JOBS where NAME = '<JobName>'
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
DeepakCorning
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 8:14 am

Re: search a job name

Post by DeepakCorning »

VSI ,


I do not know about UNIX but it is very much possible in Windows.
Go to Ascential Admin and from there to command Type the follwing query --

Select * from DS_JOBS WHERE NAME LIKE "%<JOB_NAME>%.
kris007
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 1102
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 5:38 pm
Location: Riverside, RI

Post by kris007 »

It doesn't have anything to do with Unix or Windows. Just use the above statement in the Administrator and you will get what you need.
Kris

Where's the "Any" key?-Homer Simpson
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Open Director in Status view and unselect Show Categories in the View menu. Next time the Director refreshes it will show all jobs, sorted by name, in the one window. The category is in an adjacent column in the grid.

Note that if you sort by Status (click in the grid header to sort) you have a quick mechanism to find all Running jobs, all Aborted jobs, and so on (not all status possibilities are covered in the Filter).

Re-enable Show Categories so that Director refresh does not consume too many resources.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Luciana
Participant
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 7:22 am
Location: Brasil

Post by Luciana »

Go to DataStage Administrator and execute this in the command:

select * from DS_JOBS where NAME = 'Arquivo'

Return:
Job name .... Arquivo
Description..
No.............. 55
Category..... Testes

If you don't visualize it in DataStage Manager, you can delete all references of the job with the commands below:

DELETE.FILE DATA RT_CONFIG55
DELETE VOC RT_CONFIG55
DELETE VOC RT_STATUS55
DELETE VOC RT_LOG55
DELETE VOC RT_BP55
DELETE VOC RT_BP55.O
DELETE VOC DS_TEMP55
DELETE VOC RT_SC55
DELETE DS_JOBS Arquivo
SELECT JOBNO, NAME FROM DS_JOBS WHERE NAME = 'Arquivo'
LIST DS_JOBS WITH JOBNO=55

The two last commands return: 0 records listed.

If you need of the job, then try to use the command DS.REINDEX ALL in DataStage Administrator, but make backup of the project before. The problem can be in the index of DataStage.[/code]
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Not enough!

Before removing the DS_JOBS entry you will need to remove all its children from DS_JOBOBJECTS.

Code: Select all

DELETE FROM DS_JOBOBJECTS WHERE OBJIDNO = (SELECT JOBNO FROM DS_JOBS WHERE NAME = 'Arquivo');
Warning
Any damage you inflict upon Repository tables is not covered by warranty. Make sure you have good backups, in case you make an error.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply