Sybase and Oracle errors

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: sybase ok.

Post by chulett »

drostnu wrote:anyway i just installed the sybase open client, but how do i set SYBASE and SYBASE_OCS is that to make sybase work?
Same as you are doing for Oracle, in the dsenv file. SYSBASE is like ORACLE_HOME and SYBASE_OCS get the version number, I believe.

All of this is documented by the way, both in the Plug-In Installation and Configuration Guide and the individual guides for the stages themselves.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

And not using EXPORT causes your changes to be just an exercise in typing.
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

That too. :wink:

Unless they've changed dsenv to add set -a (allexport) to the file, it sets the export to happen automatically whenever a variable is assigned a value.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
drostnu
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:17 pm

Re: sybase ok.

Post by drostnu »

Same as you are doing for Oracle, in the dsenv file. SYSBASE is like ORACLE_HOME and SYBASE_OCS get the version number, I believe.

All of this is documented by the way, both in the Plug-In Installation and Configuration Guide and the individual guides for the stages themselves.[/quote]

sure, there is a plugin installation guide, but it does not contains in formation of how to set them in unix/linux

please someone give me hand, how lines can i set them up.

thanks
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Hey, just because you can't find something doesn't mean it isn't there. Just ask my wife. :wink:

Here's an example from my dsenv, adapt as appropriate:

Code: Select all

SYBASE=/opt/sybase; export SYBASE
SYBASE_OCS=OCS-12_5; export SYBASE_OCS
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Post by Ultramundane »

SYBASE_OCS is not used for open client 11. Just SYBASE.

Thanks.
drostnu
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:17 pm

thanks

Post by drostnu »

thanks a lot!!! both!!

and for oracle just ORACLE_HOME? or something else?

regards

you guys are saving my life and my work.
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Re: thanks

Post by Ultramundane »

Looking at the product compabatility matrix included with plug-in installation guide it states that Datastage is only supported with Open Client 12.5.

Note: Open Client 12.5 is fully backwards compatable with 12.0 and 11.0. I think that you should find a package for 12.5.
drostnu
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:17 pm

done

Post by drostnu »

So... i already installed Sybase 12.5 Open Client and i have installed Oracle Database Engine and of course the client.

so know i have defined this on my dsenv file.

QUESTION: should i just add it at the end of the file? after the last

if [ -n "$DSHOME" ] && [ -d "$DSHOME" ]
...
fi

or should i add it in another place?
thanks for that one.

this is exactly what i have defined
SYBASE=/opt/sybase-12.5.1
export SYBASE
SYBASE_OCS=/opt/sybase-12.5.1/OCS-12_5
export SYBASE_OCS

ORACLE_HOME=/local/oracle/product/10.2.0
export ORACLE_HOME
ORAHOME=/local/oracle/product/10.2.0
export ORAHOME
export PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/bin:$PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib
so... do i need anything else defined? do i have something defined that should be there?

....well thats all.

sorry all the bothering!

thanks all!

diego.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

No, that should cover it. Only one minor correction, not sure if it's critical or not but SYBASE_OCS should just be the version, AFAIK:

Code: Select all

SYBASE_OCS=OCS-12_5; export SYBASE_OCS
And just for completeness, if you are on a mixed mode server, i.e. - one that can run 64bit or 32bit code - make sure you specify the 32bit Oracle libraries as DataStage is 32bit. (except on a couple of platforms, Tru64 and H-PUX Itanimum2 based systems) So, things would look like:

Code: Select all

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib32
If you're not sure you have a 64bit DataStage install, you probably don't. :wink:

Oh, and add it inside the section you mentioned, typically just below the ODBCINI declaration.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
drostnu
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:17 pm

mmm

Post by drostnu »

so far, oracle issue is working perfectly, but now i got this issue with Sybase

Code: Select all

test..Syb_Swaps: cs_ctx_alloc() failed
test..Syb_Swaps.DSLink1: DSP.Open GCI $DSP.Open error -100.
anyone knows, what could be that?

thanks!
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Re: mmm

Post by Ultramundane »

That portion of the error could be caused by anything from permissions, missing localization files, corruption, bad code, etc...

Here is what I put at the end of my dsenv to configure Sybase.

## BEGIN SYBASE ENV
export SYBASE=/msybase
export SYBASE_OCS=OCS-12_5
export LIBPATH=${LIBPATH}:${SYBASE}/${SYBASE_OCS}/lib:/lib
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}:${SYBASE}/${SYBASE_OCS}/lib:/lib
export PATH=${PATH}:${SYBASE}/${SYBASE_OCS}/bin
## END SYBASE ENV
drostnu
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:17 pm

fixed!"

Post by drostnu »

i fixed, there were some mistakes not in the dsenv file, in the sybase oc configuration!

thanks.

diego./
Post Reply