ds_loadlibrary: error in dlopen - Dynamic Error

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
grb_garre
Participant
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:49 pm

ds_loadlibrary: error in dlopen - Dynamic Error

Post by grb_garre »

Dear all,

I am having the connectivity problem with oracle oci stage ,when i view the data through oarcle stage gives error

ds_loadlibrary: error in dlopen - Dynamic Error
upon execution gives a warning and job aborts

-usr/lib/dld.sl: Bad magic number for shared library: /u01/app/oracle/product/10.1.0.2/lib/libclntsh.sl
/usr/lib/dld.sl: Exec format error

configured the ODBC stage and it works fine for the view data and as well execution.

Oracle client was installed on the Datastage server(DS-server) and i am able to talk with oracle database(DB-server) using SQLPLUS .


just for your information

Datastage :7.5.1A
Unix :HP-UX 11.23
Database: 10.1.0.2

orcale path in dsenv file is :
ORACLE_HOME=/u01/app/oracle/product/10.1.0.2
ORAHOME=/u01/app/oracle/product/10.1.0.2
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/lib LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib:$ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/lib:$ORACLE_HOME/lib32:$ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/lib32

Apart from this do i need to configure any information in any other files please advice ....

Thanks in Advance
Regards,
Raj
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Put your 32bit libraries first. Actually, you can remove the 64bit libraries as they won't be used. No need to declare them twice, either. :wink:

Code: Select all

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib32:$ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/lib32
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
grb_garre
Participant
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:49 pm

Post by grb_garre »

chulett wrote:Put your 32bit libraries first. Actually, you can remove the 64bit libraries as they won't be used. No need to declare them twice, either. :wink:

Code: Select all

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib32:$ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/lib32

Thanks for the info chulett , but still the same error
Regards,
Raj
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

After you made the change, did you stop and restart DataStage? It's required for any dsenv change.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: ds_loadlibrary: error in dlopen - Dynamic Error

Post by chulett »

And make sure you remove the line I didn't qoute to you!

Code: Select all

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/lib
Leaving that one in will hork up the other change and was what I was referring to when I said 'no need to declare them twice'.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
grb_garre
Participant
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:49 pm

Re: ds_loadlibrary: error in dlopen - Dynamic Error

Post by grb_garre »

chulett wrote:And make sure you remove the line I didn't qoute to you!

Code: Select all

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/lib
Leaving that one in will hork up the other change and was what I was referring to when I said 'no need to declare them twice'.

Thanks chulett ,its working fine
Regards,
Raj
grb_garre
Participant
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:49 pm

Re: ds_loadlibrary: error in dlopen - Dynamic Error

Post by grb_garre »

chulett wrote:And make sure you remove the line I didn't qoute to you!

Code: Select all

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/lib
Leaving that one in will hork up the other change and was what I was referring to when I said 'no need to declare them twice'.
Just wanted to know why we need to point only 32 bit libraries ? why not 64 bit libararies ?
Regards,
Raj
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

DataStage is a 32bit application on your platform.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

Craig - I guess first decent solution obtained for "ds_loadlibrary: error in dlopen" issue in our site.

May I know whether the following refereing to 64 bit by default?
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/lib
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Typically, yes - in a mixed-mode environment the 32bit libraries are explicitly named with '32' at the end. The 64bit version aren't. So...

lib = 64bit
lib32 = 32bit
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

Clear :D
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
Post Reply