Failed to Compile test harness

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
pmadhavi
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:54 pm

Failed to Compile test harness

Post by pmadhavi »

Hi
We are using Datastage 7.1r1 in Windows.
I have to remove comma froma string. I am not able to use Ereplace or Convert or any other similar function in the transformer.

So I created a test routine in the manager.
Routine definition: Ans=Ereplace(Arg1, " ","")
It is compiling without any errors.
But when I run it, it is throwing the following error.

TEST #1
*******

Arg1 = New York

Failed to compile test harness

Are these functions not compatible with DS7.1 version.
Please suggest me the work around for this.
Thanks,
Madhavi
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

What turns up if you put 'Failed to compile test harness' into the Search function here? More than likely, the answer to your question! :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
pmadhavi
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:54 pm

Post by pmadhavi »

chulett wrote:What turns up if you put 'Failed to compile test harness' into the Search function here? More than likely, the answer to your question! :wink:
I did not find any posting similar to my problem. I don't understand what does the error mean. Pls help me
Thanks,
Madhavi
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Your routine doesnot remove a comma from the string, it only removes spaces.
You need to use

Code: Select all

Ans = Ereplace(Arg1, ",","") 
It should work even in the transformer. Use the above code directly in the transformer, without the Ans = offcourse, and Arg1 will be replace by in.col
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Failed to Compile test harness

Post by ray.wurlod »

pmadhavi wrote:I am not able to use Ereplace or Convert or any other similar function in the transformer.
Why not?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply