ODBC configuration in Unix server

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
vimali balakrishnan
Participant
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 3:38 am

ODBC configuration in Unix server

Post by vimali balakrishnan »

Hi,

I have installed DataStage on unix server.I created new environment variables for connecting to Oracle database in the dsenv file.
But I'm not able to connect to Oracle from datastage.It gives me an error,
Unable to initialize plug in,when I tried to import the meta data definition through ORAOCI plug in.Can anyone help me out, to configure the ODBC connections,for datastage to connect to Oracle database?


Thanks,
Vimali
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

The Oracle stages do not use ODBC for their connectivity. You need to properly configure your dsenv file and then restart DataStage. It's all spelled out in the Plug-in Installation and Configuration Guide.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
vimali balakrishnan
Participant
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 3:38 am

Post by vimali balakrishnan »

I have created the following environment variable in the dsenv file.
ORACLE_HOME=/oracle/product/10.1.0
ORAHOME=/oracle/product/10.1.0
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/lib32:$ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/lib32;export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
PATH=$PATH:$ORACLE_HOME:$ORACLE_HOME/bin;export PATH
ORACLE_SID=omzpr430
ORASID=omzpr430
export ORACLE_HOME ORAHOME ORASID ORACLE_SID.
But still I'm getting the same error..


Thanks,
Vimali
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Did you stop and restart the DataStage server after making those changes? And are these changes located after where the LD_LIBRARY_PATH is set in the dsenv file?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
vimali balakrishnan
Participant
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 3:38 am

Post by vimali balakrishnan »

yes,I did restart the server after updating the dsenv file.

I have created the environment variable for Oracle,after the following piece of code in the dsenv file,

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=`dirname $DSHOME`/branded_odbc/lib:$DSHOME/lib:$DSHOME/uvdlls:$DSHOME/java/jre/lib/IA64W/hotspot:$DSH
OME/java/jre/lib/IA64W:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_PRELOAD=$DSHOME/java/jre/lib/IA64W/hotspot/libjvm.so
export LD_PRELOAD
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Don't see anything obviously wrong, as long are you are certain of your ORACLE_HOME value. Which version of DataStage are you running? You are using a 10g Oracle home in your dsenv and use of a 10g client isn't officially supported until 7.5.x, hence the question.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Thibal
Participant
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 3:43 am
Location: Nanterre, France

Post by Thibal »

What's happening if you try to load a table ?
Thibault Hamel
Nanterre - France
dsusr
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:30 pm

Post by dsusr »

First check that plug-in is installed at your server. Because it might be visible to you in the canvas but there may not be any operator for this stage on the server.

dsusr
vimali balakrishnan
Participant
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 3:38 am

Post by vimali balakrishnan »

I have installed DataStage version 7.5.1A on hp-itanium unix server.
Oracle 10g doesn't create any problems with Datastage version 7.5.1A on Windows..Its working fine on Windows based server...
vimali balakrishnan
Participant
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 3:38 am

Post by vimali balakrishnan »

when I try to import the meta data definitions through Plug in meta data definitions,I'm getting the following error,"Unable to Initialize Plug in".I installed Oracle client on DataStage server after installing the datastage sever.But,I'm not sure if that's an issue..
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Here is an example:

Code: Select all

ORACLE_HOME=/opt/ORCLcli/8.1.7
ORACLE_BIN=$ORACLE_HOME/bin
export ORACLE_HOME ORACLE_BIN
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
Mamu Kim
Thibal
Participant
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 3:43 am
Location: Nanterre, France

Post by Thibal »

vimali balakrishnan wrote:when I try to import the meta data definitions through Plug in meta data definitions,I'm getting the following error,"Unable to Initialize Plug in".I installed Oracle client on DataStage server after installing the datastage sever.But,I'm not sure if that's an issue..
Can you please try to load a table ?
You may have more error messages in your logs.
Thibault Hamel
Nanterre - France
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

vimali balakrishnan wrote:I have installed DataStage version 7.5.1A on hp-itanium unix server.
Hmmm... Itanium... that's ringing some warning bells in my head. I seem to remember some issues related to that chipset on an HP server. You may want to contact support and see if there are any known issues or patches or something you need to configure differently in that case. Is this a 64-bit Itanium 2 system, actually?

You might also post your complete dsenv file, wrapped in 'code' tags here for us... just for grins. :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
vimali balakrishnan
Participant
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 3:38 am

Post by vimali balakrishnan »

Please find the contents of the dsenv file,

# PLATFORM SPECIFIC SECTION

set +u

if [ -z "$DSHOME" ] && [ -f "/.dshome" ]
then
DSHOME=`cat /.dshome`
export DSHOME
fi

if [ -z "$DSHOME" ]
then
DSHOME=/dsstg/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine; export DSHOME
fi

if [ -z "$APT_ORCHHOME" ]
then
APT_ORCHHOME=; export APT_ORCHHOME
fi

if [ -z "$UDTHOME" ]
then
UDTHOME=/dsstg/Ascential/DataStage/ud41; export UDTHOME
UDTBIN=/dsstg/Ascential/DataStage/ud41/bin; export UDTBIN
fi

if [ -n "$DSHOME" ] && [ -d "$DSHOME" ]
then
ODBCINI=$DSHOME/.odbc.ini; export ODBCINI
HOME=${HOME:-/}; export HOME

#LANG="<langdef>";export LANG
#LC_ALL="<langdef>";export LC_ALL
#LC_CTYPE="<langdef>";export LC_CTYPE
#LC_COLLATE="<langdef>";export LC_COLLATE
#LC_MONETARY="<langdef>";export LC_MONETARY
#LC_NUMERIC="<langdef>";export LC_NUMERIC
#LC_TIME="<langdef>";export LC_TIME
#LC_MESSAGES="<langdef>"; export LC_MESSAGES

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=`dirname $DSHOME`/branded_odbc/lib:$DSHOME/lib:$DSHOME/u
vdlls:$DSHOME/java/jre/lib/IA64W/hotspot:$DSHOME/java/jre/lib/IA64W:$LD_LIBRARY_
PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH

LD_PRELOAD=$DSHOME/java/jre/lib/IA64W/hotspot/libjvm.so
export LD_PRELOAD
#ORACLE 10g
ORACLE_HOME=/oracle/product/10.1.0; export ORACLE_HOME
ORAHOME=/oracle/product/10.1.0
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/lib32:$ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/lib32:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH;exp
ort LD_LIBRARY_PATH
PATH=$PATH:$ORACLE_HOME:$ORACLE_HOME/bin;export PATH
ORACLE_SID=omzpr430
ORASID=omzpr430
export ORACLE_HOME ORAHOME ORASID ORACLE_SID

fi
vimali balakrishnan
Participant
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 3:38 am

Post by vimali balakrishnan »

I got this issue solved..
Since it is a HP UX Itanium server all the libraries should be 64 bit..
Hence the environment variable for Oracle_Home should have lib instead of lib32.
But still when I tried importing the meta data definition through ORAOCI9 plug in,all the Oracle instances in the TNSNames.ora is getting displayed under Database Source Name drop down,but the DS Manager application is not responding(hangs)..
Can anyone help me out in solving this issue?

Thanks,
Vimali
Post Reply