How to run dimension jobs in parallel with sequencer

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
parsi_cnu
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2003 4:26 pm

How to run dimension jobs in parallel with sequencer

Post by parsi_cnu »

Hi everybody,
How to run the dimension jobs in parallel. since all the jobs are independent of other. I am trying to use sequencer job to do that. But i couldnt succed. can anybody put some light on it.

Thanks in advance

Bye
sri
adamski
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 5:02 pm

Post by adamski »

Hi Sri

Code: Select all


                    ----
JobActivity -----> |    |
                   |    |
JobActivity -----> |    |
                   |    |
JobActivity -----> |    |
                    ----
                    Sequencer
                    (Mode = All)

Join each job activity to a sequencer with Mode set to "All". Each activity will run independantly of each other, however the sequence job will not finish until all activities are completed.
parsi_cnu
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2003 4:26 pm

Post by parsi_cnu »

For each job activity i had connect to Routine and then each jobactivity to a sequencer and i set the mode to any. still the 2nd job is waiting on my 1st job to finish.

Any way thanku very much.

Thanks


[quote="adamski"]Hi Sri

[code]

----
JobActivity -----> | |
| |
JobActivity -----> | |
| |
JobActivity -----> | |
----
Sequencer
(Mode = All)

[/code]

Join each job activity to a sequencer with Mode set to "All". Each activity will run independantly of each other, however the sequence job will not finish until all activities are completed.[/quote]
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Maybe the runtime is short that the first job finishes before the second job starts.
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

By-the-way, why are you connecting to a routine?
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

To run simultaneously you do NOT join the job activities to each other with links.

Code: Select all

          +---> JobActivity
          |
Routine --+---> JobActivity
          |
          +---> JobActivity
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

I think there is an issue with Routine Activity stages that may cause serial execution when you expect it to run the jobs in parallel. :? Not anywhere where I check or confirm/deny this.

However, it would help to get a picture of the OP's sequencer job, including the RA stages so we can see how everything is linked. A little ascii art, like Ray and Adamski did, please! :wink: Use the Preview option and wrap things in Code tags so it will (mostly) survive as written. Keep hitting Preview and checking to make sure that the final result makes sense.

Then we can see what's what.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
parsi_cnu
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2003 4:26 pm

Post by parsi_cnu »

HI everybody,
I am using routine to get last runtime parameter for the job. since i am using the same hashfile to store all the last run time parameter of the jobs may be the routine is locking the hash file to access other jobs. I dont know based on ur references i am assuming that may be the case.
thanks very much for all the people for valuable suggestions.

Thanks
srini
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

So... no job picture? :cry:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply