ds job run errors

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
babbu9
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:44 am

ds job run errors

Post by babbu9 »

Hi
I am working with running datastage job using the shell script on sun system. Eventhough I pass all the required parameters, datastage gives the following error mesaage. Can someone decipher this and inform me.

Thanks
Bob


Invalid arguments: dsjob -run
[-mode <NORMAL | RESET | VALIDATE>]
[-param <name>=<value>]
[-warn <n>]
[-rows <n>]
[-wait]
[-jobstatus]
[-userstatus]
[-local]
<project> <job>

Status code = -9999
AR03.sh[338]: -param: not found.
AR03.sh[342]: -param: not found.
AR03.sh[344]: -param: not found.
AR03.sh[355]: -param: not found.
AR03.sh[369]: -param: not found.
AR03.sh[374]: -wait: not found.


The parameters passed are :

$DSBINDIR/dsjob -run \
-param 1 \
-param 2 \
-param 3 \ , etc
-wait -jobstatus $DSPROJECT name of job
$DSBINDIR/dsjob -jobinfo name of job > jobinfo.hsh

Note:I did an echo on all parameters and all are showing valid values.
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

Parameters are fed as:

Code: Select all

 -param JOBPARAMETERNAME=value
You aren't specifying which parameter gets what value.
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
babbu9
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:44 am

Post by babbu9 »

Thank you for the reply,
I did not mention it in my post but I
did assign the parameter with the values as you mentioned, but still the problem seems to persist.

Are there any other things that could have stopped the shell script?


kcbland wrote:Parameters are fed as:

Code: Select all

 -param JOBPARAMETERNAME=value
You aren't specifying which parameter gets what value.
dsxuserrio
Participant
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 10:27 pm
Location: INDIA

Post by dsxuserrio »

Babu
It looks like your Ar03.sh has some problems. Check the line numbers indicated in the square brackets.

And if you think it is a dsjob usage error please post your full command,
dsxuserrio

Kannan.N
Bangalore,INDIA
babbu9
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:44 am

Post by babbu9 »

Thank you.
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

Look at this script, it shows you a good way to build a script to execute the dsjob command. You should form the entire command string and echo it, then execute it. That way you can debug it to see if it is formed correctly.

viewtopic.php?t=85578
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
clshore
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 11:45 am

Post by clshore »

Since you didn't post *exactly* what you are submitting on the command line, it's harder to answer your question.

Remember that the shell gets first crack at anything you submit on the command line. So be sure thet there are no alias definitions or whatnot that match in your invocation. Make sure that none of your parmdefs have any embedded whitespace, ie, protect them from the shell with quotes:

parm1='what the heck'

Do you have valid defaults for all of your job parms? If so, what happens when you submit without any parmdefs? If that runs OK, start introducing the parms on the command line one-by-one until you encouter a problem, then analyze it to see why.

Carter
Post Reply