Store procedure in DataStage

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
peppinodicapri
Participant
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:34 am

Store procedure in DataStage

Post by peppinodicapri »

Hi,
I would like to know, how to use the store procedure (Oracle) with Data Stage.

thank you

Peppinodicapri
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Use the 'Stored Procedure' stage from v7 onwards.
peppinodicapri
Participant
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:34 am

Post by peppinodicapri »

Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:Use the 'Stored Procedure' stage from v7 onwards.
can you be most specify?
thank
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Prior to DS V7, you will have to call your stored procedure via ODBC - such as "call {procedurename}" or call it from a function referred in your SQL statement

Otherwise, call a shell command such as

'sqlplus ..... execute procname'

From DS V7 onwards, you have a stored procedure stage inbuilt with DataStage which provides this functionality.
throbinson
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 5:38 pm
Location: USA

Post by throbinson »

You can call an Oracle Stored Procedure via the OCI stage if you want. Here's an example that would be defined as User defined SQL;
call PKG_BETASECPREPROCESS.PR_DELETESECURITY(:1,:2,:3,:4,:5)
You'll get nothing returned except the return code. We use this methodology to encapsulate units of work that would be very painful to try and code all in DataStage.
Post Reply