Sequence job restart

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
chrisk
Participant
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 6:20 pm

Sequence job restart

Post by chrisk »

We have built a DS routine that we use to execute all our DS jobs from within a sequence job or JC job. This routine does groovy stuff like:
* manage the passing of parameter values (static and dynamic) to the child job
* reset child jobs not in a runnable state
* capture child job runtime statistics
* manage restart flags

We were quite excited when DS7.1 came along with built-in sequence restart capabilities. However, we found that it is lacking when compared to the functionality offered by our routine. DS7.5 has not addressed the problem either which is described below.

Seq1 runs Seq2 and then Seq3.
Seq2 runs Job1 and then Job2.
Seq3 runs Job3 and then Job4.

Job4 aborts which causes Seq3 and then Seq1 to abort.

Re-run Seq1 after fixing the problem with Job4.

DS restart functionality will:
* Skip Seq2 as it has already completed successfully.
* Restart Seq3 as it did not complete successfully. This results in Job3 being re-run which is not desirable as it has already completed successfully.

Our custom job execution routine handles this restart problem right down to the lowest jobs at the bottom of the sequence tree.

We would obviously like to take advantage of DS's inbuilt restart capabilities if it was able to handle the above scenario. Is anyone aware of a work-around to this problem?

If you're listening Ascential, can you please accept this as an enhancement request.

Ta,
C.
Chris Kearns
Altis Consulting Pty Ltd
www.altis.com.au
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

This works fine at our site. I am not sure what happened.
Mamu Kim
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Sequence job restart

Post by chulett »

chrisk wrote:If you're listening Ascential, can you please accept this as an enhancement request.
They're not. At least not here, not 'officially'.

You'd either need to post this on ADN or better yet call Support and log something official.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
chrisk
Participant
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 6:20 pm

Post by chrisk »

What version are you on please Kim?
Chris Kearns
Altis Consulting Pty Ltd
www.altis.com.au
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

There is an Enhancements forum right here. Dennis and the team forward them to Ascential.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

I am on Ds7.1. It does it correctly.
Mamu Kim
chrisk
Participant
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 6:20 pm

Post by chrisk »

Hmmm??? I will have to test again but the last time I tried it ran as I described???

Ta,
C.
Chris Kearns
Altis Consulting Pty Ltd
www.altis.com.au
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

If you have a warning on a job then it does not finish "OK". This will not run the next step if there is no link for warnings. It also does not run the exception handler. The exception handler is only for aborted or stopped jobs.
Mamu Kim
Post Reply