resetting aborted jobs

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
tgoehring
Participant
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 8:18 am

resetting aborted jobs

Post by tgoehring »

We have DataStage 7.x. We have batches that submit a whole host of jobs simultaneously. Sometimes they all fail. To rerun this we have to reset all of the jobs in Director individually from their "abort" status. Is there a way to reset all the jobs at once from an "abort" status in Director or Designer or some other DataStage app?

Thank you for all your help
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

Mass-compile the jobs. Or, use better job control that resets a job after it fails or prior to running.
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
scottr
Participant
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:20 am

resetting aborted jobs

Post by scottr »

kcbland wrote:use better job control that resets a job after it fails or prior to running.
Bland can u expalin how can we achive this-

thanks in advance
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

If you use Sequencer jobs, then use the option to reset and then run. If you are using Batch jobs, add logic to get the job status and if necessary run with a reset mode, wait for it to finish, then run as normal. All of the APIs are documented in your DS BASIC manual.
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
scottr
Participant
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:20 am

Post by scottr »

what if 1)some jobs are scheduled through DataStage Schedular
2)some jobs are scheduled through CRONTAB
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

The scheduler isn't part of this equation. What matters is how the jobs are run - via a Sequencer, via hand-coding / Job Control or directly via a script and 'dsjob' from the command line.

Each have different mechanisms and APIs for controlling resetting of aborted jobs.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

scottr wrote:what if 1)some jobs are scheduled through DataStage Schedular
2)some jobs are scheduled through CRONTAB
Directly putting a job into DataStage Scheduler is the same as use Windoze AT or Unix cron. You are not using job control. Job control means controlling jobs. :? If you want to use DataStage Scheduler, you will not have the flexibility you require.
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

DataStage scheduling on UNIX also uses at, rather than cron, if at is available.

You could, in this case, schedule two runs of the job. One in reset mode (whether it needs it or not) five minutes or so before scheduled exection time of the normal run.

This still offers no protection against future failure, if the conditions that caused the job to abort previously have not been remedied.

You should, however, prefer to wrap the job in a job sequence, where you can choose "reset if required, then run", and schedule the job sequence. It's a cleaner approach.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply