Which jobs are running?

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
milind
Participant
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 12:28 am

Which jobs are running?

Post by milind »

I have multiple projects on my DS server.How can I check the jobs that are running via the cmd line?
I tried the PORT.STATUS RUNNING option.But I get a message
RUNNING option is only valid after issuing SUSPEND.FILES ON
What does this mean?

Even if I try PORT.STATUS USER XYZ, it shows all the users jobs.

Can anyone help?
roy
Participant
Posts: 2598
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 2:05 am
Location: Israel

Post by roy »

Hi,
I think using

Code: Select all

ps -ef | grep phantom
and then analizing the output strings might get you what you need.

IHTH,
Roy R.
Time is money but when you don't have money time is all you can afford.

Search before posting:)

Join the DataStagers team effort at:
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org
Image
roy
Participant
Posts: 2598
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 2:05 am
Location: Israel

Post by roy »

:oops: windows you say,
well if SYSTEM guys can't help get the SFU (services For Unix) or any other similar unix emulation on your windows machine then you can use unix flavor solutions :)

IHTH,
Roy R.
Time is money but when you don't have money time is all you can afford.

Search before posting:)

Join the DataStagers team effort at:
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org
Image
roy
Participant
Posts: 2598
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 2:05 am
Location: Israel

Post by roy »

hmm on second thought,
what do you want to do when you have the processes list?
Roy R.
Time is money but when you don't have money time is all you can afford.

Search before posting:)

Join the DataStagers team effort at:
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org
Image
roy
Participant
Posts: 2598
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 2:05 am
Location: Israel

Post by roy »

Well no time to be lazy :( shame on me :(
you could use the dsjob command line utility to get the project list from your DS server, then foreach one get the list of jobs and foreach of them get their status.
this takes time to finish and some coding in OS level bat files, vbscript and so on (choose the language your more comfortable with)
and then do with them as you wish :)

yea and I forgot on multi instance jobs need to take care of those 2
oh over 00:00 here no wonder I'm all over lol
Roy R.
Time is money but when you don't have money time is all you can afford.

Search before posting:)

Join the DataStagers team effort at:
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org
Image
milind
Participant
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 12:28 am

Post by milind »

Well, that option is always there.
I was hoping for some help on PORT.STATUS command with RUNNING option or some similar one line command.
Thanks anyways.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Check page 341 of the Universe User Reference. FWIW, for RUNNING it simply says "Lists all UniVerse processes that are not yet suspended."
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
vmcburney
Participant
Posts: 3593
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 5:25 pm
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Contact:

Post by vmcburney »

Speaking of Universe you've also got your DS.TOOLS menu with "list all processes" and "list all locks". Is there something on this menu that could help?
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Each server job and job sequences executes DSD.RUN.

Thus, "DSD.RUN" is a better string on which to filter the output of such commands as PORT.STATUS or ps -ef.

It is more accurate than "phantom", because phantom (background) processes also execute Transformer stages, via the DSD.StageRun routine.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply