Selecting records from hash file that is stored in Directory

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
Ravindar
Participant
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 6:14 am
Location: Chennai, India

Selecting records from hash file that is stored in Directory

Post by Ravindar »

Hi all,

I am going to create a server routine of type "Transform Function" which is going to fetch records from a hash file which is stored in a Directory.

So,
I want to know,
What is the query to be issued in order to get records from a hash file(say X) which is stored in a directory(say D:\ravin\).

or

Any other method of doing this.

please comment on the possibility of such routine.

Note,
I know this can be done easily through Hash file stage in a server job.
chucksmith
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:43 pm
Location: Virginia, USA
Contact:

Post by chucksmith »

You can create your hash file in a remote directory, but then, create a VOC pointer to the file. Having a VOC pointer, you can in subsequent jobs access the file as if it was created in the project. Now the selection tab is enabled in subsequent jobs.
roy
Participant
Posts: 2598
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 2:05 am
Location: Israel

Post by roy »

Hi,
the VOC entry is a must in order to invoke TCL/univers commands.
read OPENPATH and relevant commands in the basic.pdf file in your docs in the client installation directory.

IHTH,
Roy R.
Time is money but when you don't have money time is all you can afford.

Search before posting:)

Join the DataStagers team effort at:
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org
Image
sumitgulati
Participant
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 11:20 pm
Location: India

Post by sumitgulati »

The command to create an entry in VOC file.

SETFILE <pathname_of_hashed_file> <hashed_file_name> OVERWRITE

Example:

SETFILE /usr/CUST CUST OVERWRITING

Hope this helps.

Regards
-Sumit
Ravindar
Participant
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 6:14 am
Location: Chennai, India

Post by Ravindar »

Thanks to all,
It is working fine now.
Post Reply