UserStatus trigger

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
johnno
Participant
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 5:33 am

UserStatus trigger

Post by johnno »

I want trigger a job in a sequence using more than one value of the UserStatus of the previous job. Can you do this? If so, would it be as simple as entering in the Expression column on the Triggers panel: =1 or = 2 or = 3 (etc..) (although it doesn't seem to like this)? Or do you have to be more specific like: = 1 or UserStatus = 2 or UserStatus = 3 (etc..)?

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers
Johnno
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

johnno wrote:I want trigger a job in a sequence using more than one value of the UserStatus of the previous job.
Use the Custom Trigger for times like that. Then you can put in multiple conditions. For example:

Code: Select all

StageName.$UserStatus = 1 Or StageName.$UserStatus = 2
In this same manner you can check for multiple job status codes in a single link:

Code: Select all

StageName.$JobStatus = 1 Or StageName.$JobStatus = 2
for example, to go down the link when a job finishes Ok or with Warnings. Note that these variables are prefixed with the name of the Stage they are coming from, not the name of the Job (or Routine) the Stage runs.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
johnno
Participant
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 5:33 am

Post by johnno »

Craig,

Sorry for the delay but thanks a lot for your reply - works perfectly.

Cheers
Johnno
Post Reply